Maharashtra government Current Affairs - 2020

Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray to enter Legislature: The Constitutional Features

Mr Uddav Thackeray is the current Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

Article 164

The Article 164 of the Constitution provides every provision for a Chief Minister of a state. According to the article, any person who has the support of majority of the elected members of the legislative assembly shall be appointed as the CM by the governor of the state. In this case, if the person is not the member of the legislative assembly, or if he has lost the general election, he can still be appointed as the CM provided he has the support of majority of the members. However, he has to win an election within 6 months.

The Current Scenario

Mr Thackeray is to enter the state Legislature through Legislative Council. He is not a Member of the Maharashtra State Legislative Assembly. However, he was sworn in as the CM of Maharashtra on November 28, 2019 as he earned the support of majority of elected members of the State Legislature. Now he has time till May 27, 2020 to win any of the elections of state legislature.

Legislative Council

The Election Commission on the request made by the Maharashtra Governor BS Koshyari is to conduct Maharashtra Legislative Council Election.

Article 169

The Article 169 provides the features of a legislative council. One-third of the members of LC are elected through local body election such as Gram Panchayat, district councils, municipalities, etc. One-third are elected by members of State Legislature. One sixth are nominated by the Governor. One twelfth are elected by persons that are engaged in teaching professions such as universities, colleges, high schools for at least three years.

New Name for Mumbai Central Station: Nana Shankarseth

On March 12, 2020, the Maharashtra Cabinet approved the proposal to rename Mumbai Central Station to Nana Shankarseth. The approved proposal is to be sent to Ministry of Railways. It is the Central Railways operating under Ministry of Railways that has the final say in the name change.

Procedure and Authority of name change

It is the state Government that usually initiates the process of name change of Railway Station. This is usually done to change the British name of the station to the local pronunciations. It is also done to honour a local leader. There are no rules or procedure by law or in constitution for the name change of the station.

After State Governments initiation with a valid reason, the railway board at the centre submits the memorandum to the Railway minister who authorizes it.

The name change of cities, town or villages should be sent by the State Government to the Home Ministry. Again, it is the Home Ministry that has final say in the name change.

Jagannath Shankarseth

He was a philanthropist and educationalist who lived between 1803 and 1865. He had high credit among Afghans and Arabs that they chose to place their treasure with him rather than the banks. He acquired great fortune from them and donated all to the public.

Along with Sir Jamsetjee Jeejeebhoy, he launched Indian Railway Association. It was because of his efforts that Railway construction began in India. He initiated proposals and the benefits of Railway construction in the country with the Britishers.

He founded Bombay Association that was the first political organization in Bombay Presidency.