Mahinda Rajapaksa Current Affairs

Sri Lanka General Elections 2015: UNFGG emerges as largest group

United National Party (UNP) led United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG) has emerged as largest group by winning 106 seats out of total 225 seats in Sri Lankan Parliamentary election 2015.

Leader of the UNFGG and UNP and current Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe is expected to form a new government with the support of 95 MPs of United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) loyal to President Maithripala Sirisena.


  • Sri Lankan parliamentary election 2015 was held on 17 August 2015 to elect 225 members to Sri Lanka’s 15th Parliament.
  • The voter turnout for this election was record 77.66 per cent.
  • Seat Allocation: Of the total 225 seats, 196 were to be directly elected from 22 multi-member electoral districts based on open party-list proportional representation method.
  • While, remaining 29 seats are National list seats which are allotted to the parties on basis of their overall votes secured by them.

Party wise results

  • United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG) – 93 seats were won in direct election and 13 seats in National list. Thus total seats won are 106.
  • United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) – won 83 seats directly won and 12 seats in National list. Thus total seats won are 95. It should be noted that UPFA was led by former President Mahinda Rajapaksa.
  • Tamil National Alliance (TNA)-won 16 seats. They are largest party representing Sri Lankan Tamils.
  • Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna– won 6 seats.
  • Sri Lanka Muslim Congress– won 1 seat.
  • Eelam People’s Democratic Party- won 1 seat.


With this parliamentary election results, Mahinda Rajapaksa era in Sri Lankan politics came to end as he was seeking to return to power after earlier massive defeat in Presidential elections 2015 (He was defeated by Maithripala Sirisena).

Month: Categories: International Current Affairs 2018


Sri Lanka’s new government reinstates impeached chief justice Shirani Bhandaranayake

Sri Lanka’s new government led by President Maithiripala Sirisena has reinstated former Chief Justice Shirani Bhandaranayake to her former position.

She was impeached by the previous government of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

With this move, country’s new government is attempting to deliver on election promises assuring independence of the judiciary.

  • Shirani Bhandaranayake was 43rd and first woman Chief Justice of Sri Lanka appointed in May 2011.
  • In 2013, she was unceremoniously removed from this post after she was impeached in late 2012.

Earlier in January 2015, Sri Lanka’s new government had reinstated the rank of former army Chief General Sarath Fonseka, who was stripped of all ranks and sentenced to jail by Rajapaksa.

General Sarath Fonseka was Sri Lanka’s only four-star general who had led the Army to defeat the Tamil Tigers in 2009. In 2010, he had fallen out with Rajapaksa and challenged him in the election of 2010. Thereafter Fonseka was arrested, court martialled and jailed for corruption.

Month: Categories: International Current Affairs 2018