Mamata Banerjee Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Mamata Banerjee awarded the Skoch CM of the Year Award

The Chief Minister of West Bengal has been awarded the Skoch Chief Minister of the Year Award for the year 2017. The award was given to Mamta Banerjee recognising her contribution in the overall development of West Bengal as West Bengal emerged as the best-performing state in the field of Governance.

West Bengal has won 31 Skoch Awards this year for its performance in different fields and for executing unique projects. According to Skoch Group, Mamata Banerjee was chosen for the prestigious award keeping in mind the West Bengal’s  performance in governance, culture, finance, urban and rural development

West Bengal’s Kanyashree has already earned much critical acclaim. The scheme also won the highest public service award from the United Nations. Kanyashree scheme is a unique initiative of the West Bengal government to improve the status and well being of girls belonging to socially and economically backward families. It helps such families by conditional cash transfers to prevent the families from arranging the marriage of girl child before 18 years of age because of some economic reasons.

West Bengal has also won the top Skoch Award for creating the maximum number of man-days and for the maximum amount spent in paying people for their labour under the 100 days’ work scheme. The state of West Bengal has also won the IPPAI Award for rural electrification in the state. The state has also been conferred with five consecutive Krishi Karman awards in the field of Agriculture.

The Skoch Group is a think tank since 1997 that deals with socio-economic issues in the country while focusing on inclusive growth. Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu was also awarded by the Skoch Group with ‘SKOCH Sprinter of the Year’ Award.  Commerce and Industry and civil aviation minister Suresh Prabhu won the  ‘Steady Reformer’ Award.

Month: Categories: Persons in News


Election Commission grants National Party status to All India Trinamool Congress

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has granted national party status to All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) Party led by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

The party has fulfilled the required conditions to become a national party after getting status of state party in four states. The TMC is ruling the West Bengal Government and has its presence in north eastern states Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Tripura.

With this recognition, TMC became seventh national party in the country along with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Communist Party of India (CPI) and Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM).

Note: The Election Commission of India (ECI) is only the authority that grants National Party or State Party status to any political party in the country.

Eligibility to get National Party Status

If any political party

  • (i) Secures at least 6% of the valid votes polled in any four or more states, in the Lok Sabha election or to the State Legislative Assembly and (ii) In addition, it wins at least 4 seats in the Lok Sabha from any State or States. OR
  • (iii) Wins at least 2% seats in the Lok Sabha (i.e., 11 seats in the existing Lok Sabha having 543 members) and these members are elected from at least three different States. OR
  • (iv) It is recognised as a State party in at least four States.


  • Recently in August 2016, the ECI had brought changes in Paragraph 6C of the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968 to review the status of political parties every 10 years, instead of present norm of five years.
  • For instance, the status of a party (either national or state party) that did not perform up to the required criteria in 2014 election will be reviewed in 2024.
  • The changes has given major reprieve to three political parties (BSP, NCP and CPI) which were facing possibility of losing their “national party” status and all benefits associated with it despite not having met criteria in the 2014 Lok Sabha election.

Month: Categories: NationalStates