Margaret Atwood Current Affairs - 2020

2019 Booker Prize: Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo jointly win

The 2019 Booker Prize was jointly won by Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo after judges defied the rules by declaring a tie. Even though the organisers told 2019’s judges that they were not allowed to pick two winners, but Peter Florence, the chair of the five-member judging panel, decided to flout the rules anyways. The rules were changed after the last tie in 1992.

2019 Booker Prize

Although as per the Booker rules the prize must not be divided, however the judges insisted they could not separate the 79-year-old Canadian author Margaret Atwood’s – ‘The Testament’ and ‘Girl, Woman, Other’ by Bernardine Evaristo. Evaristo is the first black woman to win prestigious award since its creation in 1969.

Others Shortlisted Entries:  The other 4 authors (out of 6) shortlisted for the prize included Lucy Ellmann for ‘Ducks, Newburyport’, Chigozie Obioma for ‘An Orchestra of Minorities‘, Elif Shafak for ’10 Minutes 38 Seconds in this Strange World’ and British Indian novelist Salman Rushdie’s tragicomic ‘Quichotte’. This was the 5th time that Mumbai-born novelist was shortlisted, including the 1981 win where he bagged award for “Midnight’s Children”.

The 2019 shortlisted entries were selected from 151 submitted books published in UK/Ireland between October 2018 and September 2019. Each of the shortlisted authors received GBP 2,500 and a specially-bound edition of their book.

Booker Prize

It is a literary prize which is awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in United Kingdom (UK). The prize is open to writers of any nationality.

For the first time in 2019, the Booker Prize for Fiction is supported by venture capitalist Michael Moritz and novelist wife Harriet Heyman’s charitable foundation Crankstart, rather than the Man Group.

The prize was first awarded in 1969. In 2018 Northern Irish writer Anna Burns won the Booker Prize for ‘Milkman’

Margaret Atwood wins 2016 Pen Pinter Prize

Canadian poet, novelist, literary critic, essayist, and environmental activist Margaret Atwood was chosen for the prestigious 2016 Pen Pinter Prize.

She will formerly receive the award at a public event scheduled to be held on 13 October 2016 at the British Library.

About Margaret Atwood

  • She is best known for her work as a novelist and her famous novels are The Handmaid’s Tale, The Robber Bride and The Year of the Flood etc.
  • She has published fifteen books of poetry and many of her poems have been inspired by myths and fairy tales.
  • She also has published short stories different magazines and also published four collections of stories and three collections of unclassifiable short prose works.
  • She is also the inventor and developer of the LongPen and associated technologies that facilitate the remote robotic writing of documents.
  • She is the Co-Founder and a Director of Syngrafii Inc. a company that she started in 2004 to develop, produce and distribute the LongPen technology.
  • She is also a founder of the Writers’ Trust of Canada, a non-profit literary organization that seeks to encourage Canada’s writing community.
  • Awards and Honours: She is a winner of the Prince of Asturias Award for Literature and Arthur C. Clarke Award. She was shortlisted for the Booker Prize five times and had won it once. In 2001, she was inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame.

About PEN Pinter Prize

  • The PEN Pinter Prize is an annual literary award given to a British writer or a writer resident in Britain of outstanding literary merit.
  • The award is bestowed writer who has showed a fierce intellectual determination to define the real truth of our lives and our societies.
  • It was launched in 2009 by English PEN in honour of the late Nobel Literature Prize-winning playwright Harold Pinter.
  • The award is one of the many PEN literary awards sponsored by PEN International affiliates.
  • The 2015 PEN Pinter Prize was awarded to British poet and journalist James Fenton.