Mary Kom Current Affairs

Mary Kom wins gold medal in Asian Women’s Boxing Championships

Five time world champion Mary Kom won gold medal in Asian Women’s Boxing Championships in Light Flyweight (48 kg) category. In the final match held at Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam, she defeated North Korea’s Kim Hyang Mi in the final bout 5-0 by unanimous judges decision.

It was her fifth gold medal in 48 kg category in Asian Women’s Boxing Championships ( earlier won in 2003, 2005, 2010 and 2012) in only six appearances (in 2008 final she won silver), making her unbeaten in summit clash of continental championship. This was also Mary Kom’s first international gold medal since 2014 Asian Games and her first medal in over year.

MC Mary Kom

Mary Kom’s full name is Mangte Chungneijang Mary Kom and is nicknamed Magnificent Mary. She was born on 1 March 1983 in Churachandpur district of Manipur. She is five time World Amateur Boxing champion. She is the only woman boxer to have won a medal in each one of the six world championships.

Mary Kom had won bronze medal in 2012 London Olympics in the flyweight (51 kg) category and was only Indian woman boxer to qualify for this category. She is also first Indian woman boxer to get a Gold Medal in2014 Asian Games held at Incheon, South Korea. For her outstanding contribution to sport of boxing, she has been awarded Padma Bhushan (2013), Padma Shree (2010) and Arjuna Award for Boxing (2003).

Month: Categories: Sports Current Affairs 2018


President nominates 6 eminent members to Rajya Sabha

President Pranab Mukherjee has nominated of six eminent members to Rajya Sabha as per the provisions of Article 80 of the Constitution.

These nominated members are

  • Mary Kom: Legendary boxer and Olympic bronze medallist. She belongs to the Sino-Tibetan speaking Kom tribe of Manipur. She is five-time World Amateur Boxing champion, and the only woman boxer to have won a medal in each one of the six world championships. In 2014, she became the first Indian woman boxer to get a gold medal in the Asian Games in Incheon, South Korea.
  • Narendra Jadhav: He is renowned economist and former member of the erstwhile National Advisory Council (2010-14) and Planning Commission (2009-14). He is also the former vice-chancellor of Pune University.
  • Suresh Gopi: He is Malayalam actor and had acted in over 200 films. He is a winner of the National Film Award and Filmfare Award.
  • Swapan Dasgupta: He is journalist by profession. He had worked at senior editorial positions in various publications including The Indian Express, India Today and The Times of India.
  • Subramanian Swamy: He is BJP leader and was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1977, 1980 and 1988, and to the Rajya Sabha in 1974 and 1998.
  • Navjot Singh Sidhu: He is cricketer-turned-politician and former two time member of Lok Sabha.

Nomination of eminent members to Rajya Sabha

  • As per Article 80 (Part V) of the Constitution, President can nominate 12 members in the Council of States (Rajya Sabha).
  • These persons should have special knowledge or practical experience in the field of Art, Science, Literature and Social Service.
  • The rationale behind the principle of the nomination is to facilitate the representation of eminent professionals and experts who cannot face direct elections.

Month: Categories: India Current Affairs 2018Persons in News 2018