Mathematician Current Affairs - 2020

Abel Prize, 2020 to Hillel Frustenberg and Gregory Margulis

The Norwegian Academy of Science is to award the Abel Prize for the year 2020 to the two great mathematicians Hillel Frustenberg and Gregory Margulis. They are being honoured for their work towards probability and dynamics in number theory, combinatorics and Group Theory.

Hillel Frustenberg

He is an American-Israeli mathematician at Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He was born in Germany. His family escaped to the US before the outbreak of Second World War. An additive number theory has been named after him as Frustenberg-Sarkozy theorem. He has also won the Wolf Prize in Mathematics

Gregory Margulis

He is a Russian-American mathematician. He is known for his works on lattices. He has received the Fields medal, wolf prize and the Able prize becoming the fifth person to receive all the three prizes.

Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is a Norwegian prize that is being presented annually by the King of Norway. Every Abel Prize recipient is awarded with 7.5 million Norwegian Kroner.

22 Dec: National Mathematics Day 

National Mathematics Day is being celebrated today to commemorate the birth anniversary of Srinivasa Ramanujan. Ramanujan is remembered for his contributions to number theory, mathematical analysis, infinite series and continued fractions. This year, was his 132nd birth anniversary.

About Srinivasa Ramanujan

He was born on 22 December 1887 in Tamil Nadu’s Erode district. In his short life (he died at the age of 32, on 26 April 1920), Ramanujan had a wealth of ideas that have transformed and reshaped 20th century mathematics.

Without any formal training in pure mathematics he contributed to number theory, infinite series, and mathematical analysis. His ideas continue to shape mathematics of the 21st century. He also discovered his own theorems and compiled as many as 3900 mathematical results and equations independently.

Ramanujan’s Prime and Theta discoveries had inspired further research on this mathematical subject.  He is also know for the Hardy-Ramanujan number- ‘1729’, which is the smallest number which can be represented as sum of two different cubes in two different ways. He discovered the number along with British Mathematician G.H. Hardy.


In 2012, Union Government headed by the then Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, declared 22nd December as ‘National Mathematics Day’ to celebrate 125th birth anniversary of Srinivasa Ramanujan. Government also declared, the year 2012 as National Mathematics Year.