Mekong Ganga Cooperation Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

India to MGC nations: Expand areas of cooperation

India at 8th Mekong Ganga Cooperation Ministerial Meeting held in Manila, Philippines has called for expanding the areas of cooperation among the member countries of the Mekong Ganga Cooperation (MGC) bloc.

MGC countries have proposed to add newer areas of cooperation to the traditional areas on tourism, culture, education, transport and communication to further deepen mutually beneficial partnership and cooperation.

Key Facts

India and member states agreed to look forward to sustain this progress in the years to come and in further deepening our mutually beneficial partnership and cooperation. They also have shared the concept notes on formation of task forces on maritime connectivity and extension of (India-Myanmar-Thailand) trilateral highway into Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam

Mekong Ganga Cooperation (MGC) bloc

The MGC is an initiative by India and five ASEAN countries, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam for cooperation in tourism, culture, education, as well as transport and communications. It was launched in 2000 at Vientiane, Laos. It is named after Ganga and the Mekong which both are civilisational rivers. MGC initiative aims to facilitate closer contacts among the people inhabiting these two major river basins.

Month: Categories: National


India, Cambodia ink 2 MoUs for bilateral cooperation in Tourism, Mekong Ganga Project

India and Cambodia have signed two Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) to boost bilateral cooperation in the field of Tourism and another related to umbrella projects under Mekong Ganga Cooperation initiative.

These MoUs were signed in the presence of Indian Vice President M.Hamid Ansari and his Cambodian counterpart Prime Minister Hun Sen in Phnom Penh.

The second MoU for umbrella projects under Mekong Ganga Cooperation initiative covers five Quick Impact Projects including

  • 2 projects in Health care.
  • 1 project on Agriculture.
  • 1 project in Women’s Empowerment through Information and Communications Technology (ICT).
  • 50,000 US dollars grant for the Cambodia-India Entrepreneurship Development Centre (CIEDC) which was launched in February 2006.

About Mekong–Ganga Cooperation (MGC)

  • Established: in 2000 at Vientiane at the First MGC Ministerial Meeting.
  • Members: It comprises six member countries viz. India, Myanmar, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam.
  • The organization takes its name from two large rivers Ganga and Mekong flowing in the region.
  • MGC emphasises on four areas of cooperation including tourism, education, culture and transportation linkage for solid foundation of trade and investment cooperation in the region.

Month: Categories: National