Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Somnath Temple, Charminar among new places chosen for Swachh iconic places initiative

The government has announced the names of ten new Iconic places under the Phase II of Swachh Iconic Places initiative. Swachh Iconic Places (SIP) is an initiative of Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation under Swachh Bharat Mission.

The ten new iconic places that will be undertaken in Phase II of Swachh Iconic Places initiative are: Gangotri, Yamunotri. Mahakaleshwar Temple (Ujjain), Char Minar (Hyderabad), Church and Convent of St. Francis of Assissi (Goa), Adi Shankaracharya’s abode Kaladi in Ernakulam, Gomateshwar in Shravanbelgola, Baijnath Dham (Devghar), Gaya Tirth (Bihar) and Somnath temple in Gujarat.

The ten Iconic places that are already under implementation in Phase I are: Ajmer Sharif Dargah, CST Mumbai, Golden Temple (Amritsar), Kamakhya Temple (Assam), Maikarnika Ghat (Varanasi),  Meenakshi Temple (Madurai) Shri Mata Vaishno Devi (Katra, J&K),  Shree Jagannath Temple (Puri), The Taj Mahal (Agra), Tirupati Temple (Tirumala).

The aim of this initiative is to make these places intensely clean and transform them as model ‘Swachh Tourist Destinations’, that will enhance the experience of visitors from India and abroad.


Under the Swachh Bharat Mission, a special clean-up initiative will be carried out on 100 iconic heritage, spiritual and cultural places in the country. The Swachh Bharat Mission was launched on 2 October 2014 to make India clean and open defecation free by 2019 to mark Mahatma Gandhi’s 150th birth anniversary. The Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation will be the coordinating Ministry for this initiative, in association with the Ministry of Urban Development, Ministry of Culture, Ministry of Tourism and the concerned State governments. So far, under Swachh Bharat Mission, the sanitation coverage has increased to 64% with 1.92 lakh villages becoming Open Defecation Free (ODF).

Month: Categories: Art & Culture


Nirmal Gram Puraskar for 15 Haryana village panchayats

15 village panchayats of Haryana have been selected for Nirmal Gram Puraskaar-2013. These villages were choosen under the Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s flafship initiative Swachh Bharat Mission.

Gurgaon district alone has 5 villages among the total 15 gram panchayats. These are Bashariya, Dabuda and Dhanawas of Farukhnagar Block and Khanpur and Ransika of Pataudi Block in Gurgaon district.

A survey of these gram panchayats was conducted by two teams of Central government and one team of state government; and they were selected for awards for making proper arrangements to maintain cleanliness in the villages.

From all over India, 587 Gram panchayats have been selected for Nirmal Gram Puraskaar-2013 under Swachh Bharat Mission.

About Nirmal Gram Puraskaar (NGP)

  • This award is given by President of India to the heads of panchayats that did well in maintaining hygiene in their respective villages by operating women sanitary complexes well, preventing open area defecation, maintaining school hygiene etc.
  • It was first given in 2005 as a component of its flagship scheme- Total Sanitation Campaign (TSC).
  • Till 2011, it was given by Union Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation (MoDWS). But since 2012, it was taken up by the States, while selection of the Blocks and District Panchayats continued with the Centre.
  • Gram Panchayat’s winning NGP usually functions as training centers for people from other panchayat raj institutions aspiring to achieve full sanitation coverage.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours