Ministry of Environment Forest and Climate Change Current Affairs - 2020

Awards for first ever CMS Vatavaran-2019 presented

The Awards for first-ever MoEF&CC and CMS VATAVARAN-2019 Short Film Competition and Festival on Environment was presented in New Delhi. The awards were presented by Ravi Agrawal, Additional Secretary, Union Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) at culmination of four-day festival where all shortlisted films were showcased.

Key Highlights

The Jury which selected final awardees for competition comprised of Ramesh Sippy, Manju Borah, Rahul Rawail and Agnimitra Paul. The shortlisted films of MoEF&CC-2019 Short Film Competition and Festival on Environment were screened in festival.

The award was presented in three categories: (1) School students, (2) Amateur and College students, (3) Professionals.

Under School Students category: 345 film entry was received and 35 was nominated

Under Amateur and College Students category: 173 film entry was received and 42 was nominated

Under Professionals category: 82 film entry was received and 35 was nominated

About Vatavaran-2019

The four-day long festival was organized by Union Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) in collaboration with Centre for Media Studies (CMS). The MoEF&CC- 2019 Short Film Competition and Festival on Environment were announced by Union Environment Minister on 6 June 2019 during the celebrations of World Environment Day.

The festival was organized, exclusively on Environment and Wildlife along with 10th Competitive edition of CMS VATAVARAN. In a first, VATAVARAN-2019 festival was inaugurated at New Delhi by Union Minister Suresh Prabhu, who is also Chair of 2019 Awards Jury of CMS VATAVARAN.

During the festival, a range of workshops, discussions, seminars, interactions were also being organized to churn innovative ideas, paving a path for new talents and creative minds in stream of film making with a sense of responsibility towards Environment.

Swachh- Nirmal Tat Abhiyaan

Union Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) is undertaking a mass cleanliness-cum-awareness drive in 50 identified beaches under the programme called ‘Swachh- Nirmal Tat Abhiyaan’, from 11 -17 November 2019.

About Swachh- Nirmal Tat Abhiyaan

Objective: To strive to make coastal areas across country clean, and to create awareness amongst citizens about the importance of coastal ecosystems so as to save marine creatures from plastic waste, industrial effluents and other harmful substances.

Environment Education Division of the MoEFCC and Society of Integrated Coastal Management (SICOM) under the aegis of Ministry will be responsible for the overall coordination for drive in 50 beaches. Respective State Governments and Central Ministries will also be actively participating in beach cleaning drives.

Identified Beaches: Government has identified beaches in 10 coastal States/Union Territories (UTs) after the consultation with respective States/UTs. These are in- Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Odisha, Puducherry, Goa, Karnataka, Gujarat, Daman & Diu, and Maharashtra.

Participants: The cleaning drives undertaken in all beaches will involve institutions, school/college students of Eco-clubs, volunteers, district administration, local communities among others.

State Nodal Agencies for Eco-clubs will facilitate the week long intensive cleanliness drive in all 10 States/UTs. Nodal teachers from respective Eco-clubs will be present at the sites during entire cleanliness drive. To monitor the implementation of the drive, Environment Ministry officials have also been deputed.

Beach cleaning activities: A minimum of one Kilometre stretch of the beach shall be identified for beach cleaning activity in which will be a duration of two hours will be spent on daily basis. At about 15 identified beaches, beach sand cleaning machines shall also be deployed. Thereafter collected waste will be processed as per extant Waste Management Rules, 2016.

On completion of the cleanliness drive, best three beaches will be suitably awarded along with a Certificate of Appreciation for all the participating Eco-clubs.