Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) Current Affairs - 2020

Government constitutes Tribunal for adjudicating ban on LTTE

The Government of India (GoI) has constituted a Tribunal for adjudicating ban on Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE).

Key Highlights

  • Background: LTTE has been banned in India since 1991, after the assassination of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi by its member. In early May 2019 the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) issued a notification about extending a ban on LTTE in India for a further period of five years. As per the notification GoI under the provisions of the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA), 1967 declared LTTE as an unlawful association.
  • Recent Mandate: to examine whether or not there is sufficient cause for declaring Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) as an unlawful association (reiterated recently by MHA) the Government of India has constituted the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Tribunal.
  • The Tribunal: constituted by GoI is comprised of a sitting Judge of Delhi High Court (HC) Justice Sangita Dhingra Sehgal.

Expert Committee Constituted to examine Rules on Movement of People Near Indo-Myanmar Border

Ministry of Home Affairs has constituted an expert committee to examine the rules which allow free movement of people near Indo-Myanmar border. Indian and Myanmarese citizens are permitted free movement within 16 km of the international border, but these rules are widely exploited by militants for smuggling arms, drugs, and fake Indian currency.

The decision to constitute an MHA panel was taken at a meeting of chief ministers of the northeastern states which share a border with Myanmar. This is for the first time that meeting with the state governments has been called to discuss the issues concerning the Myanmar border. The meeting was attended by Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju and chief ministers of Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Mizoram, and the Home Minister of Nagaland.

Salient Highlights

The expert committee would be headed by the special secretary (Internal Security) in the Ministry of Home Affairs.

The panel will examine the rules and regulations adopted by the border states for free movement of the people. It has to suggest for uniform and effective implementation of free movement regime in the states which share a porous border with Myanmar

The committee has to come up with standard operating procedures common to all the four states that will provide effective measures to filter out militants, criminals and contraband at the border without causing inconvenience to genuine people.

The panel has to submit its report within three months. 


India shares 1,643-km long border with Myanmar that passes through four states of Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur and Mizoram. At present, both Indian and Myanmarese citizens are permitted a visa-free movement regime within 16 km on either side of the border. They are permitted to stay up to 72 hours with valid permits. These rules were kept in place in view of the traditional and social ties among the border people. There are over 240 villages with an estimated population of 2.5 lakh people living within 10 km of the border. However, India’s international border with Myanmar is very porous with cross-border movement of insurgents and smuggling of arms and ammunition being very common.