Ministry of Human Resource and Development Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Cabinet approves to give status of Institution of National Importance to 5 IIITs

On February 5, 2020, the Union Cabinet approved to confer the status of Institution of National Importance to 5 IIITs (Indian Institute of Information Tecnology). All the 5 IIITs are to operate in PPP mode.


The Cabinet approved the Information Technology Laws (Amendment) bill, 2020. According to the bill, five IIITs along with 15 other IIITs are to be declared as Institutions of National Importance and will hold powers to awards degrees of Bachelor of Technology, Master of Technology, BTech and PhD degree.

Features of the bill

The bill will grant statutory status to 5 IIITs that are operating in PPP mode at Bhopal, Surat, Bhagalpur, Agartala and Raichur. There are already 15 IIITs that are currently operating under PPP model. There are 5 IIITs in India that were set up by the Ministry of Human Resource Development. This means that complete funding for the institute comes from GoI. No private parties are involved. It includes IIITs in Gwalior, Jabalpur, Kancheepuram, Allahabad and Kurnool.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Indian National Commission for Cooperation with UNESCO held in New Delhi

On January 30, 2020, the Indian Commission for Cooperation with UNESCO (INCCU) was chaired by the Union Human Resource Development Minister Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal “Nishank”. UNESCO is United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization. Along with the UNESCO commission, the event was also attended by the sub commissions namely Social Sciences, Culture, Education, Natural Sciences and Culture.


After the reconstitution of the commission, it has met for the first time. The sub commissions will aid in achieving the objectives of UNESCO in India. This will help in strengthening India’s image globally. The meeting also stressed on achieving 2030 Sustainable Development Goals.

One of the SDG, Quality Education is to be achieved through New Education Policy.

India and UNESCO

India is a founding member of UNESCO. The UNESCO office in India is a cluster office for 11 countries. They are Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Afghanistan, Iran, Myanmar, India and Mongolia.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App