Ministry of Information and Broadcasting Current Affairs

64th National Film Awards

The 64th National Film Awards for year 2016 were announced on 07 April 2017.  Marathi film Kasaav won the award in the Best Feature Film category and Fireflies in the Abyss won in the Non-Feature Film Category.

Telugu drama film Sathamanam Bhavathi directed by Satish Vegesna was selected as the Best Popular film providing wholesome entertainment.


Over 300 films vied for the honours this year. The winners in feature films category were chosen by jury headed by Filmmaker Priyadarshan and winners in non-feature category were chosen by jury headed nationally acclaimed cinematographer and writer Raju Misra.

The 64th National Film Awards in the various categories are as follows
  • Best Feature Film: Kasaav (Marathi).
  • Non-Feature Film: Fireflies in the Abyss.
  • Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Sathamanam Bhavathi
  • Best Direction: Rajesh (Ventilator)
  • Best Actor: Akhay Kumar (Rustom)
  • Best Actress: Surabhi Lakshmi (Minnaminungu)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim (Dangal)
  • Best Child Artist: Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam), Manohara (Railway Children)
  • Best stunt choreography: Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)
  • Best Children’s Film: Dhanak (Hindi)
  • Best Film on social issue: Pink
  • Best Male Playback Singer: Sundara Iyer (Joker)
  • Best Female Playback Singer: Thume jaake
  • Best Screenplay (original): Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaram)
  • Best Screenplay (adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji patel (Dashakriya)
  • Best Editing: Rameshwar Ventilator
  • Sound designer: Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookunna Neram)
  • Best production design: 24
  • Best Costume Designer: Sachin (Marathi film)
  • Best Environmental film including agriculture: The Tiger who crossed the line
  • Best Make-up Artist: MK Ramakrishna
  • Best Music Direction: Babu Padmanabha (Kannada Lama)
  • Special Mention: Kadvi Hawa (Hindi), Mukthi Bhavan (Hindi), Majirathi Keki (Assamese), Sonam Kapoor (Neerja).
  • Special Jury award: Mohanlal( Pulimurugan), Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol.
  • Best feature films in regional languages: Madipur (Tulu), Joker (Tamil), Wrongside Raju (Gujarati), Pelli Chupulu (Telugu), Dashakriya (Marathi), Bisarjan’ (Bengali), Maheshinte Prathikaram (Malayalam), Ke Sara Sara (Konkini), Reservation (Kannada) and Neerja (Hindi).

About National Film Awards

  • The National Film Awards are most prominent film award ceremonies in India. It was established in 1954. Since then awarded annually.
  • Winners in different categories of these awards are selected by the national panel of Juries appointed by Union Government. These awards are presented by the President of India in the official ceremony.


47th International Film Festival of India begins in Goa

The 47th edition of the International Film Festival of India (IFFI) began in Goa. It is one of Asia’s oldest and India’s biggest film festival.

It was inaugurated by Veteran filmmaker Ramesh Sippy in the presence of Union Information and Broadcasting Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu.

Key Facts

  • This year over 300 films including 4 premieres, 6 international premieres, 26 Asian premieres 104 Indian premieres and Oscar-winning entries from nearly 90 countries will be screened.
  • South Korea is the focus country of IFFI 2016. Polish film “After-Image” of filmmaker Andrzej Wajda’s is the opening film of the festival.
  • The South Korean film “Age of Shadows” of Kim Jee Woon will be the festival’s closing film. This film also South Korea’s official entry for the Oscar awards.
  • In addition, 20 award winning short films based on ‘Swachh Bharat’ theme as a part of Swachh Bharat campaign will be showcased in the festival.
  • The Centenary Award for Indian Film Personality of the Year was bestowed upon Veteran singer SP Balasubrahmanyam.
  • Besides, prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award at IFFI 2016 was bestowed upon legendary South Korean film director and writer Im Kwon Taek.

About International Film Festival of India (IFFI)

  • IFFI was founded in 1952 and is annually held in Goa.
  • It is the biggest state-backed film festival and conducted jointly by Union Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Directorate of Film Festivals and Government of Goa.
  • It aims at providing a common platform for the cinemas of the world to project the excellence of the film art.
  • It also seeks to contribute to create awareness for understanding and appreciation of film cultures of different nations in the context of their social and cultural ethos and promote friendship and cooperation among people of the world.