Mountaineering Current Affairs

Amputee mountaineer Arunima Sinha scales Mount Aconcagua in Argentina

India’s star amputee mountaineer Arunima Sinha has successfully scaled Mount Aconcagua in Argentina as part of her Mission 7 Summits.

It was her 5th successful summit of the Mission 7 Summits that she had climbed on December 25, 2015 after starting on December 12, 2015.

With this, she created World record by becoming First Female amputee to climb 5 Mountains of the World. These are Mt. Everest (Asia), Mt. Kilimanjaro (Africa), Mt. Elbrus (Europe), Mt.Kosizko (Australia) and Mt. Aconcagua (Argentina),

Mt. Aconcagua (6,960.8 metres) is the highest mountain outside Asia and is also known as second Everest. By extension it is the highest point in both Western Hemisphere and Southern Hemisphere.

About Arunima Sinha

  • In 2013, she made the world record by becoming first female amputee mountaineer to climb the Mount Everest (8,848 meters).
  • Arunima had lost her left leg in a train accident in 2011 after she was pushed out of a running train by robbers.
  • Prior to this accident she was a national-level volleyball player but this accident cost her sporting career.
  • She was awarded the Padmashree for her achievement. Her autobiography is Born Again on the Mountain.


Mountaineer Jot Singh awarded Tenzing Norgay National Adventure award

Mountaineer Jot Singh of Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) has been honoured with the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2014-15.

He was bestowed with the award by President Pranab Mukherjee during the national sports awards presentation ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on the eve of National Sports Day observed on 29 August.

With this, Inspector Jot Singh became 11th ITBP official to receive this honour. He is one of the best mountaineers of ITBP and has been undertaking expeditions. He also has scaled the Mount Everest.

ITBP is India’s mountain-trained armed force and also known as special force for mountaineering skills. Since 1962, it has been deployed primarily to guard high altitude Indo-China border.

Other Recipients of Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2014-15: Ms. Arunima Sinha (Mountaineering), Wg. Cdr. Paramveer Singh (Aqua Sport), Lt. Col Satyendra Verma (Sky diving) and Col. Satish Chander Sharma (Mountaineering).

About Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award

  • It is named after Indian and Nepalese Sherpa mountaineer Tenzing Norgay. It is an annual award given by Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.
  • He was one of the first two individuals (along with Edmund Hillary) known to reach the summit of Mount Everest on 29 May 1953.