Narendra Modi Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Unit I of Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project dedicated to nation

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Russian President Vladimir Putin dedicated the first unit of the ambitious Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project (KKNPP) in Tamil Nadu to the nation.

KKNPP was dedicated by the leaders through video conferencing from Delhi and Moscow. It has India’s single largest nuclear generation unit with capacity of 1000 megawatt (MW)

Key Facts

  • The KKNPP is located in Tirunelveli district in Tamil Nadu, around 650 km from Chennai. It is built under India-Russian Nuclear agreement of 1988.
  • KKNPP is India’s nuclear power plant to use imported PWR technology. It has VVER (Water-Water Energetic Reactor) type light water reactors.
  • The reactors are built by the NPCIL (Nuclear Power Corporation of India) and Russia’s Atomstroyexport Company, a subsidiary of Rosatom.
  • The Unit I of the KKNPP is already in service since December 2014 and was connected to the southern grid in October 2013.
  • The first unit till now more than 10,800 million units of power and the plant had attained criticality in July 2013
  • The Unit II (1000 MW capactity) of the KKNPP had achieved criticality in July 2016 will begin power production by end of August 2016.
  • Besides, preliminary works are also going on for the construction of third and fourth reactors with Russian technical expertise.
  • KKNPP has enhanced safety features which were incorporated in the water cooled, water moderated reactor complex after the Fukushima nuclear incident in Japan.

India-Russian Nuclear agreement of 1988: It was signed between the then Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi and Soviet leader Mikahil Gorbachev in November 1988. The agreement was revived in 1998 with Russia and construction works started in March 2002 due to the political and economic upheaval in Russia after the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991.

Note: The allocation power generated from KKNPP-I & II (2000 MW) include Tamil Nadu (925 MW), Karnataka (442 MW), Kerala (266 MW), Puducherry (67 MW). While 300 MW remains unallocated.

Month: Categories: National


PM Narendra Modi launches Yaad Karo Kurbani celebrations

Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched Yaad Karo Kurbani (remember the sacrifices) celebrations at birthplace of freedom fighter Chandra Shekhar Azad at Alirajpur, Madhya Pradesh.

The Yaad Karo Kurbani is 15-day programme aimed to commemorate 75th anniversary of the Quit India Movement (QIM) and 70 years of Independence.

Key Facts

  • The 70 saal Azaadi, Yaad karo Qurbani campaign is aimed at developing a feeling in every person that nation is first and individual is secondary.
  • It seeks to provide an opportunity for the people to recall the supreme sacrifices made by freedom fighters during freedom struggle.
  • Central ministers will visit various historic locations associated with freedom movement to rekindle the patriotism fervour in the country and ensure a festive atmosphere.
  • The focus of the campaign is to reach out to youngsters and inform them of the unsung heroes and the history of the freedom struggle.
  • Commemoration events for freedom struggle heroes will also be organised at their hometowns and villages.

Quit India Movement

  • QIM is also known as Civil Disobedience or August Kranti movement.
  • The mass movement was launched on 8th August 1942 at the Bombay session of All India Congress Committee (AICC).
  • It launched after Mahatma Gandhi made a call to Do or Die in his Quit India speech delivered at the Gowalia Tank Maidan in Mumbai on 8th August 1942 after the Cripps Mission had failed.
  • The movement was started during the World War II demanding an end to the British rule in India. It demanded an orderly British withdrawal from India.
  • Many Congressmen and other participating in the movement even Mahatma Gandhi were jailed and most remained in jail till the end of World war.

Month: Categories: NationalPersons in News