Narendra Modi Current Affairs - 2020

Govt releases new political maps of J&K and Ladakh

The Union goverment released the political maps of newly formed Union Territories (UTs) of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh as well as the map of India depicting these new UTs.  This development comes as the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir was reorganized as the new UT of Jammu and Kashmir and the new UT of Ladakh on 31 October 2019, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and supervision of Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

Key Highlights

The new maps depicting the new UTs of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh, as created on 31 October 2019, along with the map of India, are prepared by Survey General of India.

The newly created UT of Ladakh consists of two districts of Kargil and Leh while the rest of the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir is in UT of J&K. The Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) is the part of UT of J&K, while Gilgit-Baltistan is in UT of Ladakh.

The Union Territories (UTs) of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh were created after on recommendation of Parliament, the President effectively dismantled Article 370 of Indian Constitution and gave assent to the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019.

In the history of India, this is for the first time that a state was converted into two UTs. The total number of states in country has now risen to 28, while the total UTs have gone up to 9. The UT of J&K will now have a legislature such as Puducherry while Ladakh will stay a UT without legislature such as Chandigarh.

Jammu and Kashmir Map

In 1947, the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir had 14 districts namely- Udhampur, Anantnag, Poonch, Jammu, Gilgit, Baramulla, Leh and Ladakh, Kathua, Reasi, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and the Tribal Territory.

However by 2019, the government of erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir had reorganised the areas of these 14 districts into 28 districts. The names of new districts were – Srinagar, Pulwama, Kargil, Ramban, Kupwara, Bandipur, Ganderbal, Budgam, Kulgam, Shupian, Doda, Kishtivar, Samba and Rajouri. Out of these, the Kargil district was carved out from the area of ​​Leh and Ladakh district. The newly created map now depicts UT of J&K as comprising 22 districts.

Ladakh Map                          

The Leh district of newly formed Union Territory of Ladakh has been defined in Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation (Removal of Difficulties) Second Order, 2019 (issued by President), to include areas of districts of Gilgit, Chilhas, Gilgit Wazarat and Tribal Territory of 1947, in addition to the remaining areas of Leh and Ladakh districts of 1947 (after carving out the Kargil District).


PM Modi and Angela Merkel to co-chair 5th Biennial Inter-Governmental Consultations

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and German Chancellor Angela Merkel will co-chair the fifth Biennial Inter-Governmental Consultations (IGC) in New Delhi on 1 November 2019. The two leaders will also hold talks and discuss a host of bilateral issues including agriculture economic partnership, trade and investment.

Key Highlights

German Chancellor Angela Merkel arrived in New Delhi on a three-day visit to India. The Chancellor is accompanied by several Ministers and State Secretaries of Federal Government, as well as a high-powered business delegation.

Under the IGC format, counterpart Ministers from both the countries will hold initial discussions in their respective areas of responsibility.

During the 5th Biennial Inter-Governmental Consultations (IGC), the two sides will discuss the entire gamut of bilateral issues including science, education, technology, people to people contact and cultural exchanges. Discussions will also be held on deepening of cooperation in traditional sectors like transport, skill development and energy, as well as explore possibilities for cooperation in newer areas like green urban mobility and artificial intelligence (AI). Moreover, two countries are likely to sign around 20 agreements.


Germany is India’s largest trading partner in Europe and is also a leading investment partner with being the seventh largest foreign direct investor (FDI) in India. Both countries have established a Strategic Partnership that is characterized by a high degree of trust and mutual understanding. Moreover, the two Leaders have regularly interacted on sidelines of many multilateral meetings.

There are over 1,700 German companies active in India and more than 600 Indo-German joint ventures (JVs) in operation. Most of the German investments in India are in sectors of services sector (particularly insurance), transportation, automobiles, metallurgical industries, electrical equipment, chemicals, construction activity and trading.

NOTE: Angela Merkel announced that she will step down as Chancellor of Germany in 2021 and would not seek re-election as leader of the centre-right Christian Democratic Union( CDU), following recent election setbacks. She has held post since 2000.