National Doctor’s Day Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

National Doctors’ Day: July 1

The National Doctors’ Day is observed every year on 1 July across India to express gratitude and acknowledge the dedication and commitment of the doctors’ towards our society. The observance of the day honours legendary physician and West Bengal’s second Chief Minister, Dr Bidhan Chandra Roy whose birth and death anniversary coincides on the same day. Indian Medical Association (IMA’s) theme for 2018 National Doctors’ Day is ‘Zero tolerance to violence against doctors and clinical establishment’,

Dr Bidhan Chandra Roy

He was born on 1 July 1882 in Patna, Bihar and died on 1 July 1962 in Kolkata, West Bengal.  He was highly respected physician and a renowned freedom fighter. He was the second Chief Minister of West Bengal and remained in his post for 14 years from 1948 until his death in 1962.

He is often considered the great architect of West Bengal. He had founded five cities of West Bengal Durgapur, Bidhannagar, Ashokenagar, Kalyani and Habra. He was also a member of the Brahmo Samaj. He was an alumnus of the Medical College Calcutta of the University of Calcutta. He was awarded Bharat Ratna, India’s highest civilian award in 1961. The Union Government has instituted Dr BC Roy National Award in his memory. He was instrumental in formation of Indian Medical Association (IMA) in 1928 and also in establishment of Medical Council of India (MCI).

The National Doctor’s Day was established by Central Government in 1991 to be recognized and celebrated every year on 1st of July i.e. on the birth and death anniversary of the most famous physician of India Dr. B C Roy.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

President Pranab Mukherjee presents BC Roy National Awards for 2008, 2009 & 2010

President Pranab Mukherjee on Friday presented the Dr BC Roy national awards for 2008, 2009 and 2010 at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

These awards were presented on the occasion of National Doctors’ Day observed on July 1 to pay honour and tribute to India’s most famous physician Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy.

The awardees are

  • 2010: Nikhil C. Munshi, O.P. Kalra, Tejinder Singh, Subash Gupta, Amrinder Jit Kanwar, Rajendra Prasad and Glory Alexander.
  • 2009:H. Sancheti, Renu Saxena, Atul Kumar, A.K. Kriplani, Kanan A. Yelikar, H.S. Bhanushali, G.V. Rao, Moti Lal Singh, C.N. Purandare and C.V. Hari Narayan.
  • 2008: Rajeshwar Dayal, Mammen Chandy, Neelam Mohan, Rohit V. Bhatt, Mohan Kameswaran, Harsha Jauhari, Gopal H. Badlani and Yash Gulati.

About BC Roy Awards

  • The BC Roy Awards were instituted by the Medical Council of India in 1976 in memory of renowned physician and former West Bengal Chief Minister Dr Bidhan Chandra Roy.
  • They are bestowed annually in the following categories: Statesmanship of the Highest Order in India, Eminent Medical Person, Medical man-cum-Statesman, Eminent person in Philosophy, Eminent person in Arts and Eminent person in Science.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App