National Current Affairs

CCEA approves expansion of Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Scheme

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) has approved expansion of Beti Bachao Beti Padhao (BBBP) Yojana for a pan India coverage from 2017-18 to 2019-20.

It expansion has proposed outlay of Rs.1132.5 crore. It will cover all the 640 districts (as per census 2011) of the country to have a deeper positive impact on Child Sex Ratio (CSR). Currently the scheme is being implemented in select 161 districts have low CSR.

Expansion of BBBP

The expansion of scheme was approved based on its successful implementation in 161 districts. The expansion includes multi sectoral intervention in 244 districts in addition to existing 161 districts. 235 districts will be covered through alert district media, advocacy and outreach, thus covering all 640 districts of the country.

Beti Bachao Beti Padhao (BBBP)

The scheme was launched by Prime Minister in January 2015 at Panipat, Haryana as comprehensive programme to address declining Child Sex Ratio (CSR) and related issues of empowerment of women over life-cycle continuum.

The scheme is being implemented as a tri-ministerial, convergent effort of Union Ministries of Women and Child Development (WCD), Health & Family Welfare (MoHFW) and Human Resource Development (HRD). The Union ‎Ministry of Women and Child Development (WCD) is nodal ministry for programme at the central level.

The focus of BBBP is on awareness and advocacy campaign, multi-sectoral action enabling girls’ education and effective enforcement of Pre-Conception & Pre Natal Diagnostic Techniques (PC&PNDT) Act.

‎The specific objectives of the scheme are preventing gender biased sex selective elimination, ensuring survival and protection of the girl child and ensuring education and participation of the girl child.

Performance of BBBP

As per the latest reports of MoHFW, there is improving trend in Sex Ratio at Birth (SRB) in 104 districts of the total 161 BBBP districts in the time period between April-March 2015-16 & 2016-17. ‎119 districts have reported progress in first trimester registration against the reported Anti Natal Care registrations. 146 districts have reported improvement in institutional deliveries.


Government to initiate Safe city plan for women in eight cities

Government will soon initiate a comprehensive ‘safe city’ plan for women in eight cities for women in eight metropolitan cities of the country. It will be implemented in Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Chennai, Lucknow, Bengaluru and Hyderabad. Decision in this regard was taken Steering Committee meeting under chairmanship of Union Home Secretary

Steering committee meeting

Municipal Commissioners, Police Commissioners, senior state government officials and civil society representatives attended steering committee meeting. Besides, representatives of Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Ministry of Women and Child Development, Ministry of Road Transport and Highways also participated.

Plan of action

The Safe city plan will serve as robust emergency response system and provides police-verified public transport will come into place. In the meeting, it was decided that police and municipal corporations of these metropolitan cities will frame plan of action.

The plan will be forwarded by respective State Level Committee headed by Chief Secretary of the state. Later it will be then assessed by Steering Committee headed by Home Secretary, which will make suitable recommendations.

Highlights of meeting

The meeting undertook comprehensive review to gaugue progress and examine steps taken by police and civil administration for women’s safety in the cities.

It discussed issues such as 33% reservation for women in police, installation of CCTV cameras, deployment of women in police stations, infrastructure issues, prevention of cybercrime, mapping of dark spots and crime-prone locations and involvement of educational institutions, among others.

It also discussed initiatives under taken by these cities. It included ‘Himmat’ app, all women patrol van, ‘shishtachar’ programme of the Delhi police; ‘Suraksha’ app of the Bengaluru police, ‘Hawkeye’ mobile app and ‘Bharosa’ programme of the Hyderabad police and Power Angels of Uttar Pradesh police.