NATO Current Affairs - 2020

Deep Submergence Rescue Vehicle at Vizag

The Deep Submergence Rescue Vehicle (DSRV) was inaugurated at the Vishakhapatnam Complex.


The DSRV has been designed in such a way that the system can be quickly be mobilized in road or air. This is being done to facilitate submarine rescue operations even in far away locations.

The vehicle System consists of Submarine rescue Vessel, a side scan sonar equipment, remote operation vehicle. The vehicle also consists of Diver Decompression Chambers, hyperbaric medical equipment.

India’s position

There are only 40 countries in the world that operate submarines. Out of these, a few have submarine rescue capabilities. India is one among the few. Some of the other countries that possess the vehicle system includes China, Italy, Sweden, UK, Japan, Korea, Russia, Singapore and USA. France, UK and Norway share the NATO Submarine System Programme.

The Indian Navy has so far inducted two such systems that will provide rescue cover to the submarines that are deployed in the east and west coast of India.

India’s New representative of UN; India to become member of UNSC

The 1985 Indian Foreign Officer T S Trimurti is to succeed Syed Akbaruddin as the permanent representative of the United Nations. Mr Trimurti was serving as the Secretary to Economic relations. The appointment announcement was made by the External Affairs ministry.

Recently, announcement was made that India is to become a member of UNSC.

Permanent Representative to the UN

The permanent representative is the head of the diplomatic mission to an international organization. The organizations that have permanent representative include United Nations, NATO, World Trade Organization, African Union, European Union, Organization of Islamic Cooperation and Organization of American States.

India’s membership at UNSC

India has been striving hard to get a permanent membership at the United Nations Security Council. Currently, there are five permanent members namely US, France, UK, Russia and china.

Non-Permanent Member

India is to become a non-permanent member at the UNSC in 2021. Along with 5 permanent members, there are 10 non-permanent members at the UNSC. A non-permanent member holds term for two years. In order to become a non-permanent member, a country should gain confidence of at least two-thirds of the members.


Akbaruddin was a 1985 IFS officer. He had served twice in Saudi Arabia. He also served as a representative of India at the International atomic energy Agency. His works at the United Nations against terrorism, climate change and peace keeping were commendable.