Nepal Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Kajin Sara Lake set to be world’s highest lake

Newly discovered Kajin Sara lake in Nepal is likely to set a new record of being the world’s highest lake. It is located at Singarkharka area of Chame rural municipality in Manang district of Nepal.

Kajin Sara lake

It is called Singar locally. It was discovered about a few months ago by team of mountaineers. As per measurement of lake taken by this team, it is located at an altitude of 5,200 metres. This measurement is yet to be officially verified. It is estimated to be 1,500-metre-long and 600-metre-wide.

It is said to have formed out of the water melted from the Himalayas. Once it is location and measurement is officially verified, it will be the world’s highest lake if its altitude of 5000-plus metres.

Current world’s highest lake: It is Tilicho Lake, situated at an altitude of 4,919 metres in Nepal.  It is 4 km long, 1.2 km wide and around 200 metres deep.

Indian bodybuilder Ravinder Malik wins Mr. South Asia title

Indian bodybuilder Ravinder Kumar Malik won Mr. South Asia title 2019. He was crowned overall champion at 12th South Asian Bodybuilding and Physique Sports Championship held in Kathmandu in Nepal.

The championship was organised under the auspices of Nepal Bodybuilding and Fitness Association by South Asian Bodybuilding and Physique Sports Federation. A total of 91 bodybuilders participated in event.

Key Highlights

Ravinder Kumar Malik won the title in 80 kg category. He was adjudged best bodybuilder among winners of 9 senior men’s weight categories.

India won a total 10 medals. It includes 4 gold, 5 silver and 1 bronze medal. But overall India remained 3rd with 380 points.

Host Nepal finished 2nd with 445 points.

Other Winners

Afghanistan: won a total 15 medals. It includes 6 gold, 4 silver and 5 bronze. Afghanistan also won team championship by securing a top position with 535 points.

Nepal: won a total 16 medals. It includes 3 gold, 7 silver and 6 bronze.

Maldives:  won a total 5 medals. It includes 3 gold and 2 bronze medals.

Pakistan: won a total 5 medals. It includes 1 gold, 2 silver and 2 bronze.

Bhutan: finished last with bronze medal.