New Zealand Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Australia, New Zealand create history by playing first day-night Test

Australia and New Zealand have created history by playing first day-night Test match at the Adelaide Oval Cricket Stadium with a pink Kookaburra ball.

The first day-night test match was the third match of the series between Australia and New Zealand played for 2015 Trans-Tasman Trophy.

This Test match numbered 2188 has a five-day limit and six-ball overs bowled with bright pink Kookaburra ball to ensure proper visibility in floodlights. This match is being played as per recommendations of the MCC World Cricket Committee to keep the test cricket alive.

Background: The idea of playing day-night test matches par with One Day Internationals (ODIs) was mooted by Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland. It was approved by International Cricket Council (ICC), an apex body for regulating cricket in July 2015.


First day-night Test is considered as significant moment in the history of Test cricket and also represents a significant continuation of the evolution of the colonial game. The change has been made in the Test cricket largely in order stop the dwindling audiences of longest version of game. The changes in timings of test matches would facilitate audiences to watch live second half of the day’s action of test match on Television in prime time or watch it directly from ground after work.

Month: Categories: Sports & Games


New Zealand wins 2015 Rugby World Cup

New Zealand has won the 2015 Rugby World Cup for record third time by defeating Australia.

In the final match played at Twickenham, England the winning team defeated Australian team by 34-17 score.

With this victory, it also became the first nation to retain the Webb Ellis Cup and it was their first victory on the foreign soil.

About Rugby World Cup

  • Rugby World Cup is contested every four years between the top international teams.
  • It was first held in 1987 and was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia.
  • The winning team is awarded with the William Webb Ellis Cup named after William Webb Ellis who invented sport of rugby according to a popular legend.
  • Four countries have won the trophy since its inception. New Zealand has won it three times (1987, 2011 and 2015).
  • 2 teams have won twice Australia (1991 and 1999) and South Africa (1995 and 2007). England has won it once in 2003.

Month: Categories: Sports & Games