Nobel Prize Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

National Dialogue Quartet wins 2015 Nobel Peace Prize

National Dialogue Quartet (NDQ) in Tunisia has won prestigious 2015 Nobel Peace Prize.

Norwegian Nobel Committee has selected NDQ for its decisive contribution in building pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the 2011 Jasmine Revolution.

NDQ was established in 2013 as an alternative, peaceful political process at a time when Tunisia was on the brink of civil war aftermath of revolution.

NDQ consists following 4 organisations in Tunisian civil society

  • Tunisian General Labour Union.
  • Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts.
  • Tunisian Human Rights League.
  • Tunisian Order of Lawyers.

After the Tunisian Arab Spring (Jasmine Revolution) in 2010-2011, NDQ paved the way for a peaceful dialogue between the citizens.

NDQ was also instrumental in establishing a constitutional system of government in Tunisia by guaranteeing fundamental rights for the entire population, irrespective of gender, religious belief or political conviction.

About Jasmine Revolution

  • It was an intensive campaign of civil resistance including a series of street demonstrations against the long authoritarian rule of President Zine El Abidine Ben Ali.
  • The events of revolution began in December 2010 and led to the ousting Zine El Abidine Ben Ali in January 2011.
  • Jasmine Revolution eventually led to a thorough democratization of the country and led to successful free and democratic elections.
  • Arab Spring: It should be noted that Tunisia was birth place of Arab Spring which later spread to many parts of the Arab world including in Egypt, Libya, Syria and Yemen.
  • In every country except Tunisia the revolution had turned violent. In case of Syria it turned into civil war.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours


Author Svetlana Alexievich wins 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature

Author Svetlana Alexievich of Belarus has been selected for prestigious 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature.

The Swedish Academy has selected Svetlana for her polyphonic writings, courage and a monument to suffering.

With this she became 14th women Literature Laureate and she is also the first writer from Belarus to receive this award.

About Svetlana Alexievich

  • She was born on 31 May 1948 in the Ukrainian town of Ivano-Frankivsk.
  • She had studied journalism at the University of Minsk between 1967 and 1972.
  • Later she worked as a journalist for several years and published her first book War’s Unwomanly Face in 1985.
  • Using her journalistic skills, she has created a literature chronicling the great tragedies of
    World War II, Soviet Union and its collapse, Soviet war in Afghanistan and 1986 Chernobyl nuclear disaster.
  • Her best-known works: Voices from Chernobyl (2005), Zinky Boys: Soviet Voices from the
    Afghanistan War (1992),
  • Awards: reviously, she had won the Swedish PEN prize in 2007 for her courage and dignity as a writer.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours