Novak Djokovic Current Affairs

Tennis: Winners of 2018 Wimbledon Championships

The 2018 Wimbledon Championships was a tennis tournament held from2 July to 15 July 2018. It was the 132nd edition of the championships and 51st edition in the Open Era. The tournament was held at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon, London, United Kingdom.

Winners are

Men’s Singles title: Serbia’s Novak Djokovic (World Number 21) won the 2018 Wimbledon title in men’s singles category by defeating Kevin Anderson (South Africa) in straight sets 6-2, 6-2, 7-6. It was his fourth Wimbledon title (earlier won in 2011, 2014 and 2015). Overall, it was his 13th career Grand Slam crown.

Women’s Singles title: Angelique Kerber (Germany) won the 2018 Wimbledon title in women’s singles category by defeating Serena Williams (United States) in straight sets 6–3, 6–3.

Men’s Doubles: It was won by Mike Bryan and Jack Sock pair from United States. They defeated Raven Klaasen (South Africa) and Michael Venus (New Zealand) pair by 6-3, 6-7(7-9), 6-3, 5-7, 7-5.

Women’s Doubles: It was won by Barbora Krejčíková and Kateřina Siniaková pair from Czech Republic. They defeated Květa Peschke, 6 (Czech Republic) and Nicole Melichar (United States) by  6-4, 4-6, 6-0 score.

Mixed Doubles: It was won by Alexander Peya (Austria) and Nicole Melichar (United States) pair. They had defeated Jamie Murray (United Kingdom) and Victoria Azarenka (Belarus) by 7-6(7-1), 6-3.


Stan Wawrinka wins 2016 US Open Men’s Singles title

Stan Wawrinka (World no 3) from Switzerland has won the 2016 US Open men’s singles title. This is Wawrinka’s maiden US Open title and his third major title.

In the final match, he defeated Novak Djokovic (World number One) from Serbia by 6-7, 6-4, 7-5 and 6-3 score. He has won three Grand Slam singles titles viz. 2014 Australian Open, 2015 French Open and 2016 US Open.

Women’s singles title

  • Angelique Kerber from Germany has won the 2016 US Open women’s singles title.
  • In the final match she defeated Karolína Plíšková of Czech Republic Karolína Plíšková by 6–3, 4–6, 6–4 score.

Men’s Doubles title

  • Jamie Murray (United Kingdom) and Bruno Soares (Brazil) won the 2016 US Open men’s doubles title.
  • In the final match, they defeated Spanish pair of Pablo Carreño Busta and Guillermo García-López by 6–2, 6–3 score.

About US Open

The US Open was a tennis tournament played on outdoor hard courts. The 2016 season was the 136th edition of the US Open. Besides it was the fourth and final Grand Slam event of the year.