Nuclear energy in India Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

11th Nuclear Energy Conclave

The India Energy Forum organized the 11th Nuclear Energy Conclave in New Delhi. The theme of the event was “Economics of Nuclear Power-Innovation towards safer and cost-effective technologies”. It was inaugurated by the Union Minister of State for development of North Eastern Region, Minister of State Atomic Energy and Space, Prime Minister’s Office and Personnel, public grievances and pensions.

Key Highlights

  • A nuclear power plant is to be constructed in Gorakhpur, Haryana
  • The DAE (Department of Atomic Energy) is working along with TATA Memorial Centre towards the implementation of flagship programmes of the Government. The priority is given to shifting towards cashless transactions.
  • The event organized three technical sessions on the following themes
    • Use of Nuclear Energy in Health care and Municipal Waste Treatment
    • Growth of Nuclear Power for meeting base load demands-Opportunities and Challenges in manufacturing industry
    • Emerging Technologies for Economy and Enhanced safety; Molten salt reactors, passive safety features, small and medium size reactors.
  • A hall of Nuclear Energy was opened at the Pragati Maidan in Delhi. The aim is to use the hall in the process of educating students and the public about the applications of nuclear energy.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Nageshwara Rao Guntur appointed as Chairperson of Atomic Energy Regulatory Board

Union Government has appointed renowned scientist Nageshwara Rao Guntur as Chairperson of Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB). His appointment as the AERB chairperson will be for three years. Guntur is the chairman, Project Design Safety Committee, Prototype Fast Breeder Reactor (PFBR) and former distinguished scientist Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd (NPCIL).

Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB)

It was established in November 1983 to carry out certain regulatory and safety functions in the fields of nuclear and radiation safety on a countrywide basis. It was constituted by President of India by exercising powers conferred by Section 27 of Atomic Energy Act, 1962 to carry out certain regulatory and safety functions under the Act. The regulatory authority of AERB is derived from rules and notifications promulgated under Atomic Energy Act, 1962 and Environmental (Protection) Act, 1986. It is headquartered is in Mumbai, Maharashtra. Its mission is to ensure that use of ionising radiation and nuclear energy in India does not cause undue risk to health and environment. Currently, it consists of full-time Chairman, an ex officio Member, three part-time Members and Secretary.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App