Odisha Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Odisha Government launches Nirman Kusuma programme

Odisha Government has launched ‘Nirman Kusuma’ programme for providing financial assistance to the children of construction workers for their technical education in the state. The scheme was launched by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in Bhubaneshwar, state capital.

Nirman Kusuma programme

The scheme aims to help fulfil dreams of construction workers’ children by providing financial assistance for their education in Industrial Training Institutes (ITIs) and polytechnics. Under it, ITI student is entitled to get financial assistance of Rs. 23,600 and diploma student to get Rs. 26,300 per annum. Total of 1,878 students from the state will get benefit from the programme.

Besides this programme, state government has also increased financial assistance for girl students by 20%. Female students from standard 6th to post graduation level will be provided financial assistance. State government also has doubled death benefits for the construction workers. The families of construction workers’ will now get compensation of Rs. 2 lakh, increased from earlier Rs. 1 lakh. Similarly, accidental benefit for construction workers’ also has been doubled from Rs. 2 lakh to Rs. 4 lakh.

Month: Categories: Government SchemesStates


Odisha Government launches food security scheme

Odisha Government has launched State Food Security Scheme (SFSS) to benefit the 25 lakh poor people who were left out of the National Food Security Act (NFSA). It was launched by Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti (2nd October) in four districts – Bolangir, Balasore, Sundergarh and Mayurbhanj. In the rest of the parts of state, the scheme was launched bystate’s MPs and MLAs.

State Food Security Scheme (SFSS)

The main beneficiary of this scheme will be vulnerable populace of state who were excluded from coverage under NFSA. Under it, beneficiaries will get 5 kg of rice per person per month at rate of Rs. 1 per kg. This will be same as availed by people covered under the National Food Security Act, 2013. The distribution of rice will be carried out through e-Point of sale (e-PoS) device at designated fair price shops. In Odisha, about 78% of population (3,26,41,800 people of state’s total 4, 19, 74,218 population) are availing benefits of NFSA.

National Food Security Act (NFSA), 2013

NFSA aims to provide subsidized food grains to approximately two thirds of the population (75% in rural areas and 50% in urban areas). It converts into legal entitlements for existing food security programmes of  Central Government such as Midday Meal Scheme, Integrated Child Development Services scheme and Public Distribution System. Under it, grains like wheat, rice and coarse grain will be distributed at the subsidized price of 3 Rs. 3, Rs. 2 and Rs. 1. Pregnant women and lactating mothers and children are entitled to get meals under prescribed nutrition by MDM and ICDS. Under it, high nutrition food is provided to children from age group of 6 months to 14 years. Pregnant women and lactating mothers are be entitled to get maternity benefit of not less than Rs. 6,000.

Month: Categories: States