One Nation-One Ration Card scheme Current Affairs - 2020

One Nation One Card Scheme integrates four more States/UT’s

The Union Minister of Consumer Affairs Ram Vilas Paswan extended the One Nation One card scheme to four more states and UT’s Jammu & Kashmir, Manipur, Nagaland and Uttarakhand. With this new move, the scheme has now been enabled in 24 states and UT’s across the country.

What is the scheme?

Under the scheme “One Nation One Ration Card” a beneficiary of a ration card regardless of their location in the country can avail ration under the National Food Security Act (NFSA) through one of their ration cards. Apart from the above mentioned four states, 20 states have already been integrated with the scheme in the past. Formerly integrated 20 States and UTs are: – Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, and Uttar Pradesh.

What is NFSA?

The National Food Security Act 2013 widely known as the Right to Food Act was made into law on 12th September 2013. This act of the Indian Parliament was implemented with the aim to subsidized food grains to approximately two-thirds of the population’s of the country which is nearly 1.2 billion people. There is a various food security programme which runs under NFSA act like, Mid-day meal scheme, Integrated Child Development Services Scheme, and the Public Distribution Scheme. Under PDS (Public Distributed Scheme) beneficiaries are entitled to get grains at very nominal rates. Rice is at 3 Rs. Wheat at 2 Rs. Millets at 1Rs. However Pregnant women, lactating mothers, and certain categories of children are eligible for daily free cereals.

Five more states/UTs added under “One Nation One Ration Card”

On May 1, 2020, the Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution approved the integration of five states and Union Territories under “One Nation One Ration Card”. These states include Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Himachal Pradesh.


With the addition of these states and union territories, around 60 crore beneficiaries are to be added under National Food Security Act. Already there are 12 more states in the cluster. These states include Madhya Pradesh, Kerala, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Goa, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana, Rajasthan and Tripura.

One Nation One Ration Card

The aim of the scheme is inter-state portability of ration cards. The scheme benefits people taking food grains under public distribution system (PDS). The system is highly useful to the migrant workers. In India around 37% of the population are migrant labourers.

National Food Security Act

Around 81 crore people in the country are covered under NFSA according to 2011 census. Under the act, the GoI is covering most vulnerable sections of the society namely antyodaya families. These families get 35 kgs of food grains per month.

Depot Online System

The Government of India is planning to integrate Public Distribution System with Depot Online System.