P V Sindhu Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

PV Sindhu wins maiden BWF World Tour Title

PV Sindhu, the 2016 Rio Olympic silver medallist, created history on 16th December 2018 as she became the first Indian to win the BWF World Tour Finals.  She defeated Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara, the 2017 world champion, by 21-19 21-17 in the final match that lasted for an hour and two minutes. Earlier, Sindhu defeated Ratchanok by 21-16, 25-23 in the semi-finals to enter the finals of the season-ending BWF World Tour tournament.

About 2018 BWF World Tour:

  • The BWF World Tour Finals is an annual badminton competition that takes place at the end of every year. The badminton players having most points from all the events of the BWF World Tour in that calendar year compete with each other in this tournament.
  • It was held from 12th to 16th December 2018 in Tianhe, Guangzhou, China. The total prize of the tournament was $1,500,000.
  • Shi Yuqi of China won the Men’s Singles title defeating Kento Momota of Japan by 21-12, 21-11.
  • Li Junhui & Liu Yuchen (China) beat Hiroyuki Endo & Yuta Watanabe by 21-15, 21-11 to win the Men’s Doubles title final match.
  • In the Women’s Doubles final match, Misaki Matsutomo & Ayaka Takahashi (Japan) defeated Lee So-hee & Shin Seung-chan (South Korea) by 21-12, 22-20.
  • Wang Yilü & Huang Dongping (China) defeated Zheng Siwei & Huang Yaqiong (China)by 23-21, 16-21, 21-18 to win Mixed Doubles final match.

This win was Sindhu’s  14th title in her career but it was the first title for her in 2018. P V Sindhu won the silver medal at the World Championships 2018, Thailand Open 2018, Asian Games 2018, Commonwealth Games 2018 and India Open held this year.

Month: Categories: Sports


P V Sindhu wins silver World Championships 2018 of Badminton

Ace Indian shuttler P V Sindhu finished second best winning silver medal at World Championships 2018 of Badminton in women’s singles category held at Nanjing, China. It makes Sindhu only Indian to have four world championships podium finishes. Earlier she had won two bronze medals at 2013 (Guangzhou) and 2014 (Copenhagen) editions.

World Championships 2018 Winners

Men’s singles: Kento Momota of Japan won the title (gold medal) with 21-13, 21-11 victory over China’s Shi Yuqi. With this victory, he became the first Japanese man to win the Championships.

Women’s singles: Olympic champion Carolina Marin of Spain won this title by defeating India’s P V Sindhu by 19-21 10-21 score.. With this victory, Marin became the first woman shuttler to win the world championships thrice. She had earlier won the title in 2014 (Copenhagen) and 2015 (Jakarta).

Men’s doubles: Chinese pair of Li Junhui and Liu Yuchen won the title by defeating Japanese pair of Takeshi Kamura and Keigo Sonoda

Women’s doubles: Japanese pair of Mayu Matsumoto and Wakana Nagahara won the title by defeating another Japanese pair of Yuki Fukushima and Sayaka Hirota.

Mixed doubles: Chinese pair of Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong won the title by defeating another Chinese pair of Wang Yilü and Huang Dongping.

Month: Categories: Sports