Padma Vibhushan Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Azim Premji awarded EY Lifetime Achievement Award

Azim Premji Chairman of Wipro Ltd will be felicitated with the Ernst & Young Lifetime Achievement Award. Ernst & Young, famously known as EY is a multinational professional services firm and is one of the “Big Four” accounting firms.

Motivational Journey of Azim Premji

Azim Premji was born on July 24, 1945, to an affluent Gujarati entrepreneur. He inherited Wipro, a vegetable oil company at the age of 21 after the sudden demise of his father.

Azim Premji was pursuing Electrical Engineering from Stanford University, USA when he took over the reins of his family business in 1966. He was written off to carry the herculean task and was publicly advised to sell his shareholding and give it into more mature hands. This further strengthened his resolve to make Wipro a success story.

Under his able leadership, Wipro diversified from hydrogenated cooking fats to bakery fats, ethnic ingredient based toiletries, hair care soaps, baby toiletries, lighting products and hydraulic cylinders.

The expulsion of IBM from the Indian market led to a vacuum and Wipro ventured into software services taking advantage. The rest is history. He led Wipro from a hydrogenated cooking fats company to a pioneer in providing integrated business, technology and process solutions on a global delivery platform. Wipro Technologies is the largest independent R&D service provider in the world and is ranked among the top 100 technology companies globally.

In 2005 Premji was conferred the Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan in 2011. Premji has also pledged to donate USD 2 billion for improving school education in India, the first of its kind by any Indian billionaire.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours


Padma Awards 2019

The government of India has announced the Padma Awards 2019. The 112 prominent personalities honoured with the Padma Awards include comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shri Awards.

Padma Awards

Padma Awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities: social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. The three categories of awards:

  • Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service.
  • Padma Bhushan is awarded for distinguished service of high order.
  • Padma Shri is awarded for distinguished service in any field.

Padma Awards were instituted by the government of India in 1954 to be awarded to citizens of India in recognition of distinguished contribution in the sphere of activities such as industry, literature, science, sports, medicine, social service, education and public affairs.  The awards are announced on the eve of Republic Day. The recipients of these awards can also include foreigners who have contributed in various ways to India.

The recommendations for Padma Awards are submitted to the Padma Awards Committee, constituted by the Prime Minister of India The committee submits their recommendations to the Prime Minister. The Prime Minister further forwards the list to the President of India for further approval.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours