Pahlaj Nihalani Current Affairs - 2020

Prasoon Joshi appointed as new chairman of CBFC

The Union Information and Broadcasting Ministry has appointed Prasoon Joshi as the new Chairman of Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC). He will replace Pahlaj Nihalani and shall have tenure of three years.

Besides, the ministry by exercising its powers conferred by sub-section (1) of section 3 of the Cinematograph Act, 1952 and the Cinematograph (Certification) Rules, 1983 also reconstituted the existing CBFC Board for a period of three years or until further orders, whichever is earlier. The new board will be headed by Prasoon Joshi.

Prasoon Joshi

Prasoon Joshi is renowned songwriter-poet known for his contribution to various films and for designing successful ad campaigns. He has been honoured with Padma Shri. He has penned the theme song for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Swachh Bharat Abhiyan and other campaigns. 

About Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC)

The CBFC also known as “Censor Board” is a statutory body under Union Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. It grants certificate to regulate the public exhibition of films in India under the provisions of the Cinematograph Act 1952.

The mandate of CBFC is to promote recreation, education, good and healthy entertainment to public according to the provisions of the Cinematograph Act, 1952, and Cinematograph (Certification) Rules, 1983. Films can be publicly exhibited in India only after they are certified by the CBFC.

The CBFC board is headed by central government appointed chairperson and 12-45 non-official members. The members are eminent persons from social science, education, law, arts or films background appointed. Its headquarters are in Mumbai, Maharashtra.