Pakistan Current Affairs - 2020

UN Security Council adopts Resolution on Safety and Security of Peace Keepers, First of its Kind

On March 31, 2020, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 2518 to ensure safety and security of peacekeepers. This is the first time, a resolution is being passed for the safety of the peacekeepers.


The resolution was initiated and sponsored by China. It was co-sponsored by 43 countries including Pakistan, Iran, South Africa, Turkey, Russia, Vietnam, etc. Today there are more than 95,000 peacekeepers operating in around 13 missions all over the world.

The resolution of safety of peacekeepers comes in a time when the United Nations is marking 75th anniversary. This is a crucial year for the organization to implement “Action for Peace”.

Action for Peace

The Action for Peace initiative was launched by the United Nations to help countries address challenges such as elusive political issues, protracted conflicts, dangerous environments, broad and complex mandates, etc. The initiative will focus on targeted mandates, support political solutions.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

National Emergency Declared in Pakistan to fight against Locusts in the border

Pakistan which is facing the worst locust attacks in decades has declared National Emergency. The emergency was declared to tackle the insects that are destroying crops in Punjab province, the main region of agricultural production.


The locusts are currently in the India-Pakistan border along Cholistan. Usually, these Locusts move to Iran after some time. However, this time due to low temperatures they are still in Pakistan.

Locusts in India

By the end of January 2020, the Indian border of Gujarat and Rajasthan were attacked by desert locusts from Pakistan and Iran. They mainly attacked the oil seed producing regions. It included rapeseed and cumin seed plants in Gujarat in around 17,000 hectares and 360,000 hectares of land in Rajasthan.

The smallest swarm of locusts eats as much as a day’s food of 35,000 people. They travel 150 km in a day.

A similar locust crisis was last reported in 2007 when the heavy rains were in favourable breeding conditions for the insects.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App