Piyush Goyal Current Affairs

Government reconstitutes six Committees of Cabinet

The Union Government has reconstituted six Committees of the Cabinet after recent ministry reshuffle. Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman who was elevated in recent Cabinet restructuring process was inducted as full time member of Cabinet Committee on Security, Cabinet Committees on Economic and Political Affairs. Railway Minister Piyush Goyal and Dharmendra Pradhan were also included as permanent members of the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA).

Cabinet Committees

Under the Government of India Transaction of Business Rules (TBR), 1961 executive arm of government is assigned task of conducting the business of it in an effective and convenient manner. The Cabinet Committees are constituted under these rules. They are extra-constitutional in nature and are nowhere mentioned in the Constitution. They are instrumental in reducing the workload of the Government.

The six Committees of the Cabinet are

  • Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC): It is responsible for all appointments of higher ranks in the Central Secretariat, Public Enterprises, Public Enterprises and Financial Institutions.
  • Cabinet Committee on Accommodation (CCA): It is responsible for the allotment of accommodation for various top positions in the Government of India.
  • Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA): It deals with the activities pertaining to the economics of the country.
  • Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA): It looks into the matters related to the progress of government business in the Parliament of India. It is headed by Union Home Minister.
  • Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA): It is responsible for all issues related to domestic and foreign affairs. It is most powerful cabinet committee and is described as Super Cabinet.
  • Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS): It is one of the most important committees in India, it looks into the matters of defece expenditures and National Security.

Note: All Committees of Cabinet except Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs (CCPA) is chaired/headed by Prime Minister. CCPA is headed by Union Home Minister.


2017 Union Ministerial Reshuffle

Nine new members were inducted into Council of Ministers of NDA Government led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in recent reshuffle. The aim of reshuffle was to reinforce 4Ps — passion, proficiency, professional and political acumen in Government.

9 new members inducted are

Hardeep Singh Puri: Minister of State (Independent Charge) Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs.

Satya Pal Singh: MoS Human Resource Development and MoS Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation.

Shiv Pratap Shukla: MoS Finance Ministry.

Alphons Kannanthanam: MoS (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Tourism; and MoS in Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology.

Raj Kumar Singh: MoS (Independent Charge) of Ministry of Power; and MoS (Independent Charge) of Ministry of New and Renewable Energy

Virendra Kumar: MoS in Ministry of Women and Child Development; and MoS in Ministry of Minority Affairs

Anantkumar Hegde: MoS in Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship

Besides, four senior ministers were elevated to the cabinet rank. They are

Piyush Goyal: Railway Ministry.

Nirmala Sitharaman: Defence Ministry.

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Minority Affairs Ministry.

Dharmendra Pradhan: Skill Development and Entrepreneurship Ministry.