Poland Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

WTA rankings: Li Na climbs to World No.2 spot

Screenshot_15In the latest Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) singles rankings, Chinese tennis ace Li Na ranked World No.2 following her second Grand Slam crown at the Australian Open 2014.

Top five players in the WTA Singles rankings:

  1. Serena Williams (United States).
  2. Li Na (China)
  3. Agnieszka Radwanska (Poland)
  4. Victoria Azarenka (Belarus)
  5. Maria Sharapova (Russia)

Top three players in the WTA doubles ranking:

  1. Peng Shuai (China)
  2. Hsieh Su-Wei (Chinese Taipei)
  3. Vesnina Elena (Russia) 

Two-time Grand Slam champion, Li Na became the first Asian to be the second ranked player in the world and her compatriot Peng Shuai became the first Chinese player to ascent to top world spot in doubles after winning the Qatar Open with partner Hsieh Su-wei of Chinese Taipei.

Month: Categories: InternationalPersons in NewsSports


COP-19 climate talks at Warsaw concludes

The 19th Conference of Parties (COP-19), to the Kyoto Protocol concluded in Warsaw, Poland.

The UN Conference on Climate Change 2013 concluded with negotiating countries reaching a compromise on how to combat global warming. They came out of the long standing impasse by approving a way out for a new global climate treaty to be signed in Paris in 2015.

What was the purpose of COP19 talks at Warsaw?

Al these deliberations are focused towards reaching a new global climate treaty which will replace the 1997 Kyoto Protocol, which sets targets for developed nations to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions. The Kyoto Protocol is valid till 2020. Keeping this in view.the global agreement has to be agreed on by 2015 and in force by 2020, which made it imperative that delegates thrash out a large part of the draft version this year (2013) for consideration at next year’s COP-20 in Lima, Peru.

What is the outcome of COP-19 talks at Warsaw?

Delegates to COP19 agreed that all nations should work to cut emissions from burning coal, oil and gas as soon as possible, and ideally by the first quarter of 2015. Major decisions adopted at this conference include decisions on further advancing the Durban Platform, the Green Climate Fund and Long-Term Finance, the Warsaw Framework for REDD Plus, the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage and other decisions

Month: Categories: EnvironmentInternational