Poland Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

COP-19 climate talks at Warsaw concludes

The 19th Conference of Parties (COP-19), to the Kyoto Protocol concluded in Warsaw, Poland.

The UN Conference on Climate Change 2013 concluded with negotiating countries reaching a compromise on how to combat global warming. They came out of the long standing impasse by approving a way out for a new global climate treaty to be signed in Paris in 2015.

What was the purpose of COP19 talks at Warsaw?

Al these deliberations are focused towards reaching a new global climate treaty which will replace the 1997 Kyoto Protocol, which sets targets for developed nations to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions. The Kyoto Protocol is valid till 2020. Keeping this in view.the global agreement has to be agreed on by 2015 and in force by 2020, which made it imperative that delegates thrash out a large part of the draft version this year (2013) for consideration at next year’s COP-20 in Lima, Peru.

What is the outcome of COP-19 talks at Warsaw?

Delegates to COP19 agreed that all nations should work to cut emissions from burning coal, oil and gas as soon as possible, and ideally by the first quarter of 2015. Major decisions adopted at this conference include decisions on further advancing the Durban Platform, the Green Climate Fund and Long-Term Finance, the Warsaw Framework for REDD Plus, the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage and other decisions

Month: Categories: Environment & BiodiversityInternational


India re-elected to ICAO Council

India has been re-elected to the new Council of International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) as one of the states making the largest contribution in facilitating global air navigation. The elections were held at the 38th session of the Assembly of ICAO in Montreal.

What is ICAO?


International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO)

Estblished: 1944, as a specialized agency of the United Nations to promote the safe and orderly development of international civil aviation throughout the world.

Functions: It sets standards and regulations necessary for aviation safety, security, efficiency, capacity and environmental protection, apart from serving as the forum for cooperation in all fields of civil aviation among its 191 member states.

Term of the Council3 years
No. of Member:   36 members
Categories:   3 categories. 

The Structure of present Council is as follows:
  • PART I – (States of chief importance in air transport) – Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and the United States. All of them have been re-elected.
  • PART II –  (States which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation) – Argentina, Egypt, India, Mexico, Nigeria, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain and Venezuela. Except Norway, Portugal and Venezuela, all others have been re-elected.
  • PART III– (States ensuring geographic representation)- Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chile, Dominican Republic, Kenya, Libya, Malaysia, Nicaragua, Poland, Republic of Korea, United Arab Emirates and United Republic of Tanzania. Bolivia, Chile, Dominican Republic, Kenya, Libya, Nicaragua, Poland and United Republic of Tanzania have been elected for the first time.

Month: Categories: International