Portugal Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

UNESCO allows 19 new additions to World Heritage List

The World Heritage Committee of UNESCO has recognized 19 sites to be added into the World Heritage List.  The new additions have brought the grand total of World Heritage Sites to 981 in 160 nations. Of those, 759 sites are cultural, 193 natural and 29 mixed properties.

The new additions are:

Natural sites:

  1. Xinjiang Tianshan (China)
  2. Mount Etna (Italy)
  3. El Pinacate and Gran Desierto de Altar Biosphere Reserve (Mexico)
  4. Namib Sand Sea (Namibia)
  5. Tajik National Park (Tajikistan)

Cultural sites:

  1. Red Bay Basque Whaling Station (Canada)
  2. Cultural Landscape of Honghe Hani Rice Terraces (China)
  3. Historic Monuments and Sites in Kaesong (Democratic People’s Reublic of Korea)
  4. Levuka Historical Port Town (Fiji)
  5. Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe (Germany)
  6. Hill Forts of Rajashtan (India)
  7. Golestan Palace (Iran)
  8. Medici Villas and Gardens in Tuscany (Italy)
  9. Fujisan or Mount Fuji, sacred place and source of artistic inspiration (Japan)
  10. Historic Centre of Agadez (Niger)
  11. Wooden Tserkvas of the Carpathian Region in Poland and Ukraine (Poland / Ukraine)
  12. University of Coimbra – Alta and Sofia (Portugal)
  13. Al Zubarah Archaeological Site (Qatar)
  14. Ancient City of Tauric Chersonese and its Chora (Ukraine)

Beyond adding new sites to its growing list, Unesco has another weapon in its conservation arsenal: World Heritage in Danger. This year, it placed Syria’s six world heritage sites — including the ancient city of Damascus and the ruins of Palmyra — on the danger list in order to draw attention to the risks they face amid political instability. The world’s largest raised coral atoll, Rennell Island in the Solomon Island group, also joined World Heritage in Danger due to the threat of logging. Iran’s ancient Bam Citadel was removed following “sound management.”

Month: Categories: InternationalPlaces in News


India, Portugal ink Social Security pact

India and Portugal inked a Social Security Agreement (SSA). About 75,000 Indians are living in Portugal, most of them are working as professionals and self-employed. The bilateral Social Security Agreement is significant requirement from the futuristic point of view to take advantage of the emerging employment opportunities and to further strengthen the trade and investment between the two countries.

Benefits that will come from this Social Security Agreement:

  • For short term contract upto 5 year, no social security contribution would need to be paid under the Portuguese law by the detached workers provided they continue to make social security payment in India.
  • The above benefits shall be available even when the Indian company sends its employees to Republic of Portugal from a third country.
  • Indian workers shall be entitled to the export of the social security benefit if they relocate to India after the completion of their service in Republic of Portugal.
  • The self-employed Indians in Republic of Portugal would also be entitled to export of social security benefit on their relocation to India.
  • The period of contribution in one contracting state will be added to the period of contribution in the second contracting state for determining the eligibility for social security benefits.

What is Social Security contribution?

Social Security contribution is similar to India’s Employees Provident Fund (EPF). As per Indian Labor Law, it is mandatory for every employer and employee who falls under the ambit of Employees Provident Fund Act 1952 to make contribution towards the provident fund. Similarly, Portugal has a mandatory contribution fund known as Social Security. In the absence of this pact, the Indian workers in foreign nations paid social security tax in the countries of their stay although they contributed there part in India.

Countries with which India has signed SSA:

There are 17 nations:

Belgium, Germany (Social Insurance), Switzerland, France, Luxemburg, The Netherlands, Hungary, Denmark, The Czech Republic, Republic of Korea, Norway, Germany (Comprehensive SSA), Finland, Canada, Japan, Sweden and Austria.

Month: Categories: International