Pradeep Kumar Sinha Current Affairs - 2020

Rajiv Gauba appointed next Cabinet Secretary for two years

The Appointments Committee of Cabinet (ACC) headed by Prime Minister Narrendra Modi has approved appointment of Rajiv Gauba, as India’s new Cabinet Secretary for a tenure of two years. His term will start from 30 August 2019 or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

Key Highlights

Rajiv Gauba will initially join the Cabinet Secretariat as Officer on Special Duty from date of his assumption of charge till he takes over as Cabinet Secretary- the most powerful position in country’s civil service.

He will take over charge of country’s top bureaucratic from incumbent Pradeep Kumar Sinha, a 1977 batch Uttar Pradesh-cadre IAS officer.

While the position of Cabinet Secretary is for 2 years period but under present rules of service, there is an enabling provision of an extension, granting 4 years of tenure.

About Rajiv Gauba

He is 1982 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of Jharkhand cadre. He is currently serving as secretary in ministry of home affairs. He replaced Rajiv Mehrishi as the union home secretary.

He was born in Punjab in 1958, and is a physics graduate from Patna University.

Career: He was chief secretary of Jharkhand for 15 months before joining urban development ministry on 1 April 2016. He also served as collector and district magistrate of Nalanda, Muzaffarpur and Gaya districts in undivided state of Bihar.

He has been credited as being architect of labour reforms in Jharkhand and helping bring down violence in Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected areas in mineral rich state.

He has also been credited by work done by him during his stint in ministry of environment and forests.

Union Government constitutes National Committee on Trade Facilitation

The Union Government has constituted a National Committee on Trade Facilitation (NCTF) to develop the pan-India road map for trade facilitation.

It has been constituted in line with the World Trade Organisation (WTO’s) Trade Facilitation Agreement (FTA), which India also has ratified.

The NCTF will inter – ministerial body on trade facilitation and will be headed by Pradeep Kumar Sinha, who is the Cabinet Secretary of India.

Terms of References of Committee

  • It will be a national level body that will facilitate domestic co-ordination and implementation of TFA provisions.
  • It will play lead role in developing the pan-India road map for trade facilitation. It will have three tier structure with main national committee for monitoring implementation of TFA.
  • It will synergise the various trade facilitation perspectives across the country and focus on an outreach programme for sensitization of stakeholders about it.
  • It will be responsible for identifying the nature of required legislative changes and spearheading the diagnostic tools needed for assessing compliance to TFA.
For more details: Trade Facilitation Agreement (FTA)