Pranab Mukherjee Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Governor of Meghalaya V. Shanmuganathan gets additional charge of Manipur

President Pranab Mukherjee has appointed Governor of Meghalaya V. Shanmuganathan to discharge the functions of the Governor of Manipur.

He was given additional charge of Manipur after previous Governor Dr. Syed Ahmed passed away. Thus he will discharge additional functions of the Governor of Manipur along with his  own duties, until regular arrangements are made.

V Shanmuganthan is a prolific writer and had written three books related to culture and social aspects in Tamil.

He was member of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) and had joined it in 1962. Later he had joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) where he had served in many party positions.

He was appointed as Governor of Meghalaya in May 2015 succeeding Keshari Nath Tripathi.

It should be noted that Article 153 of Constitution says that there shall be Governor for each state. But the 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 has facilitated the appointment of the same person as a governor for two or more states.

Month: Categories: Persons in News


Gandhi Peace Prize 2014 conferred on ISRO

President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2014 on Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO).

ISRO Chairman A S Kiran Kumar on behalf of the organisation received the prize at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

ISRO was chosen for the prestigious award in March 2015 for its contribution in development of space technology and satellite-based services, making space technology a catalyst of development of India and bringing societal transformation and provided the service to the common man and nation.

About Gandhi Peace Prize

  • Instituted in 1995 by Union Government as a part of the 125th birth anniversary celebration of Mahatma Gandhi.
  • Awarded annually to individuals and institutions for their contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.
  • The prize carries an award of one crore rupees, a plaque and a citation.
  • Previous recipients: Julius Nyerere (the first President of Tanzania) was the first recipient of the prize (1995). Other important recipients are Ramakrishna Mission, Baba Amte, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Grameen Bank, Nelson Mandela, Desmond Tutu and others.

Month: Categories: Awards & Honours