Pranab Mukherjee Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

President Pranab Mukherjee inaugurates centenary celebration of Patna High Court

The centenary celebration of Patna High Court was inaugurated on 18 April 2015 by President Pranab Mukherjee.

He also released a commemorative postage stamp on this occasion to mark HC’s glorious judicial history.

Bihar Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi was in the chair and Chief Justice of India (CJI) H.L. Dattu was guest of the honour on this occasion.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Union Law Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda and Union IT Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad also had attended the function.

Facts about Patna High Court

  • On 1 December 1913, then Viceroy of India, Lord Charles Hardine had laid the foundation stone of the existing Patna High Court building.
  • On 3 February 1916, the building was formally opened by Lord Hardine. The court had started functioning with a chief justice and 6 judges under the provisions of Government of India Act 1915.
  • At present it has sanctioned strength of 43 judges.
  • Rajendra Prasad, India’s first President and Sachchidanand Sinha, first president of the constituent assembly also had practised at this court.
  • 3 Chief Justices from Patna High Court went on to become the Chief Justice of India (CJI). They are Justice B.P. Sinha (6th CJI), Justice Lalit Mohan Sharma (24th CJI) and Justice Rajendra Mal Lodha (41st CJI).

Month: Categories: States


Nasim Zaidi appointed as Chief Election Commissioner

President Pranab Mukherjee on 9 April 2015 appointed the senior most Election Commissioner (EC), Dr. Nasim Zaidi as the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC).

He will succeed incumbent CEC HS Brahma, who retires on 19 April 2015 after attaining age 65. Dr Zaidi will have tenure of two years i.e. till he attains the age of 65 in July 2017.

About Dr. Nasim Zaidi

  • Nasim Zaidi is 1976 batch IAS officer from the Uttar Pradesh cadre.
  • He had served as the Director General of Civil Aviation (DGCA).
  • He had retired from IAS as Secretary to the Union Government in Ministry of Civil Aviation in July 2012.

About Chief Election Commissioner (CEC)

  • As per the provisions of Article 324 of Constitution, Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners are appointed by the President.
  • They hold office for the term of 6 years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
  • The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from office only through impeachment by Parliament.

Month: Categories: Governance & Politics