President Current Affairs

Pu Zoramthanga has been appointed as new Chief Minister of Mizoram

Mizo National Front President, Pu Zoramthanga has been appointed as new Chief Minister of Mizoram. Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Zoramthanga. He succeeded Mr. Lal Thanhawla. Senior MNF leader Tawalunia has been appointed as Deputy Chief Minister of State and other 10 members have been allocated the ministry.

About Mr. Zoramthanga

He had earlier served as Chief Minister of Mizoram twice from 1998 to 2008. He is the chief of Mizo National Front, founded by Mr. Laldenga and led the 20 year – long violent Mizo Movement. He joined Mizoram Legislative Assembly in 1987 as Minister of Finance and Education. He has served in various ministries including finance, planning, public work department and horticulture.


Mizoram Assembly election held on November 28 and result for the same was published on 14 December. MNF bagged 26 seats out of total 40 seats and won the election whereas BJP could manage to win only one seat while congress managed to win only 5 seats.

Mizo National Front

Mizo National Front a regional party of Mizoram founded by Pu Laldenga in 1961. The party is a part of North-East Democratic Alliance and ally of National Democratic Alliance. Presently Pu Zoramthanga is president of the party.


Month: Categories: Persons in News 2018


Bharat Bhushan Vyas Appointed as New Member of UPSC

On 13 December 2018, Sh. Bharat Bhushan Vyas has joined as a member of the Union Public Service Commission. UPSC Chairman Arvind Saxena administered him the oath of office and secrecy. Shri Vyas has become the first IAS officer from J&K cadre to join any constitutional body. His tenure will be of three years.

About Bharat Bhushan Vyas

He is an IAS officer of the 1986 batch, serving Jammu and Kashmir for last 32 years. He retired as Chief Secretary of Jammu and Kashmir. He served on prominent posts including Principal Secretary Finance, Srinagar Deputy Commissioner, Divisional commissioner.

Union Public Service Commission

UPSC is a central recruiting agency in India which derived its mandate from Article 315 to 323 in Part XIV of Indian Constitution. UPSC consists of a Chairman and four other members appointed by President of India. The term of the Chairman and members of UPSC is of six years or until they attain the age of 65 years.  According to Constitution, UPSC is ‘watch – dog’ of merit system in India.

Month: Categories: Persons in News 2018