Qingdao Current Affairs - 2020

Indian Navy Ships to take part in Chinese International Fleet Review

Indian Navy warships INS Kolkata and tanker INS Shakti will take part in the Chinese international fleet review to be held at Qingdao on April 23.

The International Fleet Review is being held by China to commemorate the 70th Anniversary of the People’s Liberation Army’s Navy. More than 60 countries are expected to join the commemorative event on 23 April.

International Fleet Review

International Fleet Review is a parade of naval ships, aircraft and submarines, and is organised by nations to promote goodwill, strengthen cooperation and showcase their naval capabilities.

International Fleet Review provides an ideal platform for the world’s navies to showcase their prowess and indigenous ship designing and shipbuilding capabilities in the global arena.

India had conducted a similar International Fleet Review off Visakhapatnam in 2016, which witnessed an overwhelming participation of 50 navies with nearly 100 warships.

INS Kolkata is an indigenously built stealth guided missile destroyer equipped with state-of-the-art weapons and sensors to address threats in all dimensions of naval warfare whereas INS Shakti is a fleet support ship. INS Shakti is one of the fleet ship capable displacing over 27,000 tonnes and capable of carrying 15,000 tonnes of liquid cargo and over 500 tonnes of solid cargo including victuals and ammunition.

The participation of Indian Ships is aimed at projecting the Indian Navy’s indigenous shipbuilding capability together with showcasing India’s strength in the waters and its reach and sustainability.

China to host 2018 SCO Summit at Qingdao in June

China will host 2018 Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Summit at Qingdao, eastern Shandong Province in June 2018. China had taken over rotating chair of SCO after17th SCO summit concluded in Astana, capital of Kazakhstan in June 2017.

Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO)

SCO is a Eurasian economic, political and security organisation headquartered in Beijing, China. It was founded in 2001. The full members of the organization are China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, India and Pakistan. Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia have observer status at present.

China had founded this grouping in 1996 and then it was called as Shanghai Five. It comprised of Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan. In 2001, Uzbekistan was invited to join it and SCO was officially born. After Astana Summit Declaration in 2005, SCO has emerged as a regional security organization.

The groupings main objective is military cooperation between members. It also works towards intelligence-sharing, counter-terrorism operations in Central Asia. It is primarily centred on its member nations’ Central Asian security-related concerns, often describing main threats it confronts as being terrorism, separatism and extremism.