Ramon Magsaysay Award Current Affairs - 2020

Bezwada Wilson, TM Krishna win Ramon Magsaysay Award 2016

Two Indians, social activist Bezwada Wilson and musician TM Krishna, have won the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award 2016.

They are among the total six awardees selected for the 2016 Ramon Magsaysay Award, often regarded as Asia’s Nobel Prize.

The 6 awardees are

  • Bezwada Wilson (India): He has been recognized for asserting the inalienable right to a life of human dignity. He is the National Convener of the Safai Karmachari Andolan (SKA). He has done remarkable work in liberating scores of people engaged in manual scavenging across the country.
  • Thodur Madabusi Krishna (India): He has been recognized for ensuring social inclusiveness in culture. He is a Carnatic music vocalist.
  • Conchita Carpio Morales (Philippines): She has been recognized for restoring faith in the rule of law.
  • Dompet Dhuafa (Indonesia): She has been recognized for expanding the transformative impact of zakat.
  • Japan Overseas Cooperation Volunteers (Japan): The organisation has been recognized for building a world of genuine solidarity.
  • Vientiane Rescue (Laos): The organisation has been recognized for volunteering to save lives at risk.

They will be bestowed with this award at the awarding ceremony scheduled to be held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines in Pasay City on August 31, 2015 i.e. on the birth anniversary of former Filipino President Ramon Magsaysay.

About Ramon Magsaysay Award

  • Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honour and is often regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.
  • It was established in 1957 in the memory of Philippines’ 3rd President Ramon Magsaysay who had died in air disaster in March 1957.
  • It was established by trustees of the New York City based Rockefeller Brothers Fund and Philippine government.
  • It is awarded annually to individuals or organizations from Asia region for their altruistic and philanthropic service.
  • The award carries a Medallion bearing the likeness of the late President Ramon Magsaysay, cash prize and a certificate.

Eminent cartoonist RK Laxman passes away

Eminent cartoonist, illustrator and humorist Rasipuram Laxman passed away in Pune. He was 94.

About Rasipuram Laxman

Rasipuram Krishnaswamy Laxman (famously known as RK Laxman) was born on 24 October 1921 in Mysore, Karnataka. Famous novelist R. K. Narayan was his elder brother.

His creation:

  • He is best known for creation of iconic character The Common Man, for his daily cartoon strip, You Said It in The Times of India(TOI). It was started in 1951. This character held a mirror to the society and targeted politicians for more than five decades.
  • In 1988, commemorative postage stamp of The Common Man was released by the Indian Postal Service on the 150th anniversary TOI.
  • He also created a popular mascot for the Asian Paints group called Gattu in 1954.

Other Works:

  • His cartoons have appeared in Hindi films such as Mr. & Mrs. in 1955 and a Tamil film Kamaraj.
  • His creations also include the sketches drawn for the television adaptation of Malgudi Days (written by his elder brother R K Narayan and directed by Shankar Nag).
  • Awards: He is recipient of Padma Bhushan (1971)Padma Vibhushan (2005) and Ramon Magsaysay Award for Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts (1984).
  • His Autobiography: The Tunnel of Time: An Autobiography.
  • Books: He had published numerous short stories, essays, and travel articles, some of which were collected in The Distorted Mirror (2003). His novels include The Hotel Riviera, The Messenger and the short story collection Servants of India.