Ranji Trophy Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Vidarbha claim 2nd successive Ranji Trophy

The defending champions Vidarbha won the 85th Ranji Trophy title. The defending champions defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs in the final.

Score Card of the Ranji Final Clash

Vidarbha: 312 and 200

Saurashtra: 307 and 127

Aditya Sarwate of was Vidarbha was declared man of the match for his 11 wickets in the match and 49 runs in Vidarbha’s second innings which helped Vidarbha clinching the title for the second time.

Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy is the Indian domestic first-class cricket championship between teams representing regional and state cricket associations. The championship is named after Ranjitsinhji Vibhaji Jadeja, who was famously referred to as ‘Ranji’.

The cricket championship was conceived in July 1934 and the first fixture was held between Madras and Mysore at the Chepauk ground in Madras. The Ranji Trophy was also donated by Ranjitsinhji Vibhaji Jadeja.

Mumbai(Bombay) have won the tournament the most number of times with 41 wins. Vidarbha became the sixth team to successfully defend their title. The other sides to win the consecutive titles are Bombay/Mumbai, Maharashtra, Delhi, Rajasthan and Karnataka.

Month: Categories: Sports


Mumbai wins Ranji Trophy 2016

Mumbai has won the Ranji Trophy for a season 2015-16 by defeating Saurashtra.

With this victory, Mumbai clinched Ranji title for record 41st time (10 of them being won with innings wins) after playing in record 45 finals.

In the final match played a Gahunje Stadium of Maharashtra Cricket Association in Pune, Mumbai defeated Saurashtra by 21 runs.

Shreyas Iyer of Mumbai was declared man of the match for his 117 runs in the match. He ended the season as the leading run-getter with 1321 runs at 73.38 including four centuries and seven fifties. Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur also played important role in victory of team by taking five wickets for 26 runs in 13.2 overs.

About Ranji Trophy

  • Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between teams representing regional cricket associations.
  • The trophy is named after England and Sussex cricketer Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji and was first played in 1934.
  • At present, the championship is played between 27 teams which include 21 states (of 29 Indian states) and Delhi (UT). The format of Ranji Trophy is Round-robin then knockout.

Month: Categories: Sports