Right Livelihood Award Current Affairs - 2020

Right Livelihood Award 2019

The winners of Right Livelihood Award 2019 were announced in Stockholm, Sweden. The year 2019 was celebrated as the 40th anniversary of Right Livelihood Award, widely known as ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’.

2019 Right Livelihood Award Laureates

The Sweden-based Right Livelihood Foundation announced 4 winners in 2019 edition of awards, namely-

  1. Swedish climate activist Greta Thunberg– for inspiring and amplifying political demands for urgent climate action reflecting scientific facts
  2. Sahrawi human rights activist Aminatou Haidar- for her steadfast nonviolent action, despite imprisonment and torture, in pursuit of justice and self-determination for people of Western Sahara
  3. Chinese women’s rights lawyer Guo Jianmei– for her pioneering and persistent work in securing women’s rights in China.
  4. Hutukara Yanomami Association (Brazil) and its indigenous leader Davi Kopenawa– for their courageous determination to protect the forests and biodiversity of Amazon, and the lands and culture of its indigenous peoples

About Right Livelihood Award

The award was established in 1980 and is presented by Swedish Right Livelihood Foundation. The award honours and supports courageous people solving global problems. So far, there are 178 Right Livelihood Award Laureates from 70 countries.

The Swedish Right Livelihood Foundation has Special Consultative Status with UN Economic and Social Council. Thus the award also seeks to help protect those Award recipients whose life and liberty are in danger.

Unlike most other international prizes, the Right Livelihood Award has no categories. The award consists of a cash prize of 1 million Swedish kronor ($103,000) for each laureate.

Eminent political scientist Rajni Kothari passes away

Eminent political scientist, scholar and former Planning Commission member Rajni Kothari passed away in New Delhi. He was 86.

About Rajni Kothari

  • He was born on 16th August, 1928.
  • He was a well-known political thinker, political theorist, academician and writer.
  • He had started his career as a lecturer at the Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda (Baroda University). In 1961, for first time he received recognition when his essays series, Form and Substance in Indian Politics were published in Economic and Political Weekly (then Economic Weekly) over six issues.
  • In 1963, he had founded Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS) – a social sciences and humanities research institute based in New Delhi.
  • In 1980, he had founded Lokayan (Dialogue of the People), a forum for interaction between activists and intellectuals.
  • He was member of the Planning Commission during the national Front Government led by then Prime Minister V P Singh.
  • He was also associated with number of prestigious institutions including Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), International Foundation for Development Alternatives and People’s Union for Civil Liberties (PUCL).
  • Books: His famous published works include Politics in India (1970), Caste in Indian Politics and Rethinking Democracy (1973), In Search of Humane World Order Poverty: Human Consciousness (1989) and the Amnesia of Development and Communalism in Indian Politics (1995).
  • Awards: In 1985 on behalf of Lokayan, he has received the Right Livelihood Award from the Swedish Parliament in Stockholm (widely referred as the Alternative Nobel Prize). He has also received the UGC’s Swami Pranavananda Award in Political Science.