Roland Garros Current Affairs - 2020

Simona Halep beats Serena for Maiden Wimbledon Title

Simona Halep of Romania beats Serena Williams of United States with 6-2, 6-2 in  final to win Women’s Singles Wimbledon Title 2019. She dispatched 7-time Wimbledon Champion Serena Williams in just 56 minutes to clinch her 1st Wimbledon and 2nd Major title.

Key Highlights

Simona Halep is now 1st Romanian to win singles crown at SW19 (the location i.e. South-West London 19 of Wimbledon tennis club). Earlier, mercurial Ilie Nastase was a two-time finalist in 1972 and 1976.

She dropped only one set throughout tournament to claim her 1st Wimbledon title.

One of the biggest motivations for Simona Halep to win Wimbledon was to get a life-time membership of coveted All England Club.

For Serena, it was a 3rd successive loss in Major final since her return from maternity. She is still one short of Margaret Court’s record of 24 Majors.

About Simona Halep

The 27 Year old is born on 27 September 1991 in Constanta, Romania.

Simona’s Grand Slam titles (2): French Open in 2018; Wimbledon in 2019

Won her 1st Grand Slam title after falling at final hurdle 3 times- Roland Garros (2014, 2017) and Australian Open (2018)

She became 1st Romanian to win Grand Slam crown since her manager Virginia Ruzici in Paris in 1978.

She claimed her 1st Grand Slam title at Roland Garros by defeating Sloane Stephens.

She made several changes to her coaching team and in 2019 her ranking dropped to 7th.

French Open 2017: Rafael Nadal Wins his 10th French Open Title

Spain’s Rafael Nadal has defeated Swiss third-seeded Stan Wawrinka 6-2, 6-3, 6-1 to win his record 10th French Open title. This will be his fifteenth major title win. With this victory, Rafael Nadal has become the first man or woman in the Open era to clinch a Grand Slam tournament 10 times. The Open era which began in 1968 allowed professional players to compete with amateurs in the Grand Slam tournaments.

With 15 Grandslam title wins, Nadal moves to the second place above Pete Sampras on the list of all-time Grand Slam winners of men’s tennis only behind Roger Federer, who recently registered his 18th title win at the Australian Open in January.


Women’s Doubles Title

America’s Bethanie Mattek-Sands and the Czech Republic’s Lucie Safarova have clinched their third successive grand slam doubles title after defeating Australian duo Ashleigh Barty and Casey Dellacqua at the French Open.

French Open

The French Open is a premier clay court tennis championship event held between late May and early June for a duration of two weeks at the Stade Roland-Garros in Paris. The event is the second of out of four annual Grand Slam tournaments. The other three events are Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open. The event has been named after the French aviator Roland Garros. Garros was a Tennis Lover.  French Open is also called “Roland Garros” or Les internationaux de France de Roland-Garros or Tournoi de Roland-Garros.