Royal Aeronautical Society Current Affairs - 2020

DRDO Chairman G Satheesh Reddy awarded honorary fellowship by Royal Aeronautical Society of UK

Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) chairman G Satheesh Reddy was awarded honorary fellowship by Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) of United Kingdom (UK) during the Medals and Awards presentation ceremony in London. He is the first Indian recipient of the prestigious award in more than 100 years.

About G Satheesh Reddy

Why was he awarded? Society’s highest award is bestowed in recognition of contributions of Reddy towards indigenous design, development and deployment of diversified missile systems, guided weapons, aerospace vehicles as well as avionics technologies in India over the past three decades. His pioneering technological contributions has enabled the country to realise frontline military systems and world class missile technologies.

His Contributions: He spearheaded Mission Shakti, India’s first Anti-Satellite Missile Test (ASAT) mission which demonstrated an extremely high degree of precision and technological prowess, enabling India to join a select group of 4 nations with such capability. He even bolstered Ballistic Missile Defence (BMD) programme and successfully demonstrated missile interception capabilities at high altitudes.

He also led development of advanced avionics, the indigenous design, development and deployment of state-of-the-art mission critical aerospace technologies and advanced missile systems as well as achieved successful missions of long-range Agni 5 strategic missile. His Research & Development contributions have made country self-reliant in Missiles and Avionics technologies. These cutting edge technologies have been backbone for key strategic programmes and other defence applications in India.

He is famous among students as ‘Junior Kalam’ and ‘Next Generation Missile Man’ due to his talent on advanced technologies.

Awards: He has received many awards such as- National Systems Gold Medal, AIAA Missile Systems Award, National Design Award, National Aeronautical Prize, Homi J Bhabha Gold Medal, Technology Leadership Award and IEI-IEEE (USA) award for engineering excellence.

About Honorary Fellowship by Royal Aeronautical Society

It is one of the world’s highest distinctions for aerospace achievement awarded for only most exceptional contributions to the aerospace profession. It is considered as equivalent to Nobel Prize in the aerospace domain.

The first Honorary Fellowship was awarded in year 1917. Eminent persons conferred with this award includes doyens of Aerospace such as Orville Wright, aviation pioneer known for inventing airplane with his brother, Wilbur.

DRDO chief Satheesh Reddy conferred Missile Systems Award

Aerospace scientist and Chief of the Defence Research Development Organisation (DRDO), G Satheesh Reddy has been conferred the Missile Systems Award 2019 by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Satheesh Reddy shares the award with Rondell J. Wilson, a former Principal Engineering Fellow of Raytheon Missile Systems. He is the first Indian and first person outside the USA to be awarded this prestigious award in nearly four decades.

Satheesh Reddy

  • Satheesh Reddy is the Scientific Adviser to the Defence Minister and is considered the architect of advanced missile technologies and smart guided weapons technologies in India.
  • Satheesh Reddy was the Project Director for the design and development of the country’s first 1,000 kg class guided bomb which has enhanced precision strike capabilities.
  • Satheesh Reddy is also the first scientist from India to receive the Silver Medal from the Royal Aeronautical Society, London.
  • Satheesh Reddy has also played a key role in the development of some key systems, including tactical missile systems such as the quick reaction surface-to-air missile, the portable anti-tank guided missile and the HELINA and NAG anti-tank weapons.

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is a professional society of Aerospace Engineers. AIAA aims to ignite and celebrate aerospace ingenuity and collaboration, and its importance to our way of life.

The Missile Systems Award recognises excellence in developing or implementing missile systems technology, including significant technological accomplishments or for inspired leadership of missile systems programmes.