Sahitya Akademi Award Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Renowned Tamil novelist Thopil Mohammed Meeran dies aged 74

The well-known Tamil writer and Sahitya Akademi awardee Thopil Mohammed Meeran passed away at the age of 74.

About Thoppil Mohamed Meeran

  • In his lifetime he received eight literary awards which includes Sahitya Akademi Award and Tamil Nadu Kalai Ilakkiya Perumantram Award.
  • He won the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award in 1997, for his novel Saaivu Naarkkaali (The Reclining Chair), released in 1995.
  • Other Novels Authored: are Thuraimugam, Anju Vannam Theru, Oru Kadalora Graamaththin Kathai, and Koonan Thoppu (all between 1988 and 2011).
  • His Short Story Collections and extensive translation work, gave him a prominent place in literary world. Some of his short story collections includes Thangarasu, Oru Maamaramum Konjam Paravaigalum, Anbukku Muthumai Illai, Oru Kutti Theevin Varippadam, Ananthasayanam Colony, and Thoppil Mohamed Meeran Kathaigal.
  • Forte: Due to his mastery over both Malayalam and Tamil, he could use both languages in his novels effortlessly. This became the speciality of all his literary works i.e. his novels brilliantly narrated the fisherfolk’s life with details in both Tamil and Malyalam.

Month: Categories: Persons in News


24 poets and authors 2018 Sahitya Akademi Award

India’s national academy of letters Sahitya Academy has announced names of 24 poets and authors who will be conferred the prestigious 2018 Sahitya Akademi Award in 24 different Indian languages. The award has recognised premier works in 24 Indian languages that includes seven books of poetry, six novels, six short stories, three of literary criticism and two of essays.

The awards will be presented at a roadshow function to be held on 29th January next year at New Delhi duringFestival of Letters to be organised by Sahitya Akademi.  The awardees were recommended by distinguished jury members representing 24 languages and were approved by Executive Board under chairmanship of Dr. Chandrashekhar Kambar who is President of Sahitya Akademi.

Awardees are

Poetry: Sananta Tanti (Assamese), Paresh Narendra Kamat (Konkani), S Ramesan Nair (Malayalam) and Dr Rama Kant Shukla (Sanskrit), Dr. Mohanjit (Punjabi), Dr. Rajesh Kumar Vyas (Rajasthani) and Khiman U Mulani (Sindhi).

Short stories: Sanjib Chattopadhyay (Bengali), Mushtaq Ahmed Mushtaq (Kashmiri), Prof Bina Thakur (Maithili), Rituraj Basumatary (Bodo), Prof. Budhichandra Heisnamba (Manipuri) and Nath Upadhyay Chapagain (Nepali).

Novel: Inderjeet Kesar (Dogri), Anees Salim (English), Chitra Mudgal (Hindi), Shyam Besra (Santali), Ramkrishnan (Tamil) and Rahman Abbas (Urdu).

Literary Criticism: KG Nagarajappa (Kannada), Ma. Su. Patil (Marathi) and Prof. Dasarathi Das (Odia).

Essays: Prof. Sharifa Vijliwala (Gujarati) and Dr. Kolakaluri Enoch (Telugu).

Bhasha Salman 2017 and 2018

Sahitya Akademi also announced its Bhasha Salman for year 2017 and 2018. Yogendra Nath Sharma was awarded for North zone; Gagendra Nath Das for Eastern zone; G Venkatasubbiah for South zone; and Shailaja Bapat for Western zone.

Sahitya Akademi Awards

It is literary honour that is conferred annually on Indian writers for their outstanding works of literary merit. It was established in 1954. It is conferred annually on writers of outstanding works in one of the twenty-four major Indian languages (22 Scheduled Languages+ English and Rajasthani). The award consists of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque (designed by film-maker Satyajit Ray), a shawl and cheque of Rs.1 Lakh.

Month: Categories: National