Saina Nehwal Current Affairs - 2020

HS Prannoy, Saina Nehwal win 82nd Senior National Championship titles

HS Prannoy (World no 11) won the 82nd Senior National Championship title of Badminton in men’s single category by defeating Kidambi Srikanth (World No 2) by 21-15, 16-21, 21-7 score.

The women’s single title was won by Saina Nehwal (World No 11). She defeated PV Sindhu (World No 2) by 21-17, 27-25 score. The mixed doubles title was won by Satwik Sai Raj R and Ashwini Ponnappa by defeating Pranaav Jerry Chopra and N Sikki Reddy pair by 21-9, 20-22, 21-17 score.

Senior National Badminton Championships

It is annual tournament organized to crown the best badminton players in India. It was established in 1934 and until 1960s foreign players were also allowed to participate in it. The 2016 edition of title was won by Sourabh Verma (men’s single title), Rituparna Das (women’s single title).

Rio Olympics silver medallist P.V.Sindhu moves to No. 3 in World Ranking

Ace shuttler PV Sindhu has been ranked No. 3 in the latest BWF ranking. Sindhu who was at No.5 climbed up two places on the basis of making the quarter-finals of the recently-concluded Singapore Open Super Series. Sindhu’s career best is when she reached World No. 2 two weeks ago.

As per the latest BWF ranking, London Olympics bronze medallist Saina Nehwal has been ranked eighth. Kidambi Srikanth and B Sai Praneeth have been placed at 21st and 22nd positions respectively.

PV Sindhu

PV Sindhu received international attention after getting listed on the Top 20 list of Badminton World Federation rankings in 2012. In 2013, she created history by becoming first Indian women’s singles badminton player to win a medal at the 2013 World Championships. Sindhu grabbed Silver medal in Rio Olympics. With that, she became the second Indian female shuttler to win an Olympic medal after Saina Nehwal (2012 London Olympics). She has been awarded Padma Shri in 2015, which is India’s fourth-highest civilian honour.