Saina Nehwal Current Affairs - 2020

Saina Nehwal wins Syed Modi Grand Prix Gold badminton tournament 2015

Indian ace shuttler Saina Nehwal has clinched the Syed Modi International India Grand Prix Gold badminton title 2015 in the women’s singles category.

In the final match she defeated world champion Carolina Marin (Spain) by score of 19-21, 25-23, 21-16 held at Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.

With this win she has retained this title which she had won in 2014.

About Syed Modi International India Open Grand Prix championship

  • It is named after a famous Indian badminton player Syed Modi, an eight-time National Badminton champion.
  • After his death, a badminton tournament was constituted in his memory, Syed Modi Memorial and All India Syed Modi badminton championship hosted each year at Lucknow.

Union Sports Ministry recommends Saina Nehwal’s name for Padma Bhushan award

Union Sports Ministry has recommended badminton player Saina Nehwal’s name for Padma Bhushan award. As per Sports ministry, recommending her name is a special case.

Earlier, she had expressed anger for not being nominated for this year’s award.

However, Sports ministry earlier did not nominate her citing reason that Badminton Association of India (BAI) did not apply for Saina’s name for award on time. Later on 3rd January 2015, BAI had acknowledged Saina’s name to Sports ministry paving way for  her nomination.

About Saina Nehwal

  • She was born 17 March 1990 in Hisar, Haryana.
  • She is the first Indian to win Olympics medal in Badminton and had achieved this feat by winning the Bronze medal at the London Olympics 2012.
  • She is the first Indian to win the World Junior Badminton Championships and was also the first Indian to win a Super Series tournament, by winning Indonesia Open in 2009.
  • She also has won the China Open Super Series Premier-2014.
  • She is only Indian badminton player who attained a career best ranking of number 2 in December 2010 by Badminton World Federation.
  • Awards: Government has awarded her with Arjuna Award (2009), Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (2009–2010) and Padma Shri (2010).

About Padma Bhushan award

It is the third highest civilian award in India, after Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan. It was established on 2 January 1954 by President and is awarded to recognized person for their distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field

Every year it is announced on the occasion of Republic Day. It is conferred to recipient by the President at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.