Saraswati Samman Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

K. Siva Reddy awarded Saraswati Samman

K Siva Reddy is a Telugu poet. He was awarded the Saraswati Samman award for his collection Pakkaki Ottigilite in 2018.

About Saraswati Samman

The award is considered as the highest recognition in the field of Indian literature. It carries a cash prize of Rs 15 lakhs. The award is instituted by the KK Birla Foundation and is honored with once in a year.

The award is provided after a rigorous selection process carried out by Chayan Parishad. Chayan Parishad is the selection committee that is assisted by regional committees. It consists of eminent writers and scholars of various languages.

About K Siva Reddy

K Siva Reddy was born in an agricultural family. He is a renowned modern poet in Telugu. He has also taught English literature.

About Pakkaki Ottigilite

The poem was published in 2016. It is an anthology of 104 poems in blank verses. Blank verse has no rhyme. It consists of lines of 5 feet. The verses are the in the form of responses by the poet to the social changes over the years, the evolution of his own self and his relationship with the world

Saraswati Samman 2018

Telugu poet K Siva Reddy has been selected for the prestigious Saraswati Samman, 2018. He has been awarded for his work Pakkaki Ottigilite which is a collection of poetry.

K Siva Reddy was born in 1943 in a farmer’s family in Andhra Pradesh’s Guntur. He is considered as the most renowned modern poets in Telugu. Siva Reddy has also published critical essays on poetry.

Pakkaki Ottigilite was published in 2016. It is an anthology of 104 poems in blank verse. It captures the responses of the poet over the years to social change, the evolution of his own self and his dynamic relationship with the world.

Saraswati Samman Awards

Saraswati Samman Award was instituted by the KK Birla Foundation in the year 1991. It is given annually for an outstanding literary work written in any official Indian language and published during the preceding 10 years. It carries a cash purse of Rs 15 lakh, apart from a citation and a plaque.

Other popular literary awards constituted by the Birla Foundation are Vyas Samman (for Hindi) and Bihari Puraskar (for Hindi and Rajasthani writers of Rajasthan).