Satya Pal Malik Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Cabinet approves Governor’s Rule in J&K for another 6 months

The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi approved the extension of President’s rule under article 356(4) of Indian Constitution, in Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) for a period of 6 more months, beginning from 3 July 2019. The decision was based on prevailing situation in state as stated in report of Governor of Jammu and Kashmir, Satya Pal Malik.

The present term of President’s Rule is expiring on 2 July 2019 but as recommended by J&K Governor, the President Rule in State may be extended for a further period of six months with effect from 3 July 2019 if it gets parliamentary approval.

Implementation: A resolution seeking approval of parliament for extending President’s Rule in J&K will be moved in both houses of parliament during the upcoming session.


J&K was placed under Governor’s Rule after Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) pulled out of coalition government with J&K’s Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in June 2018. This Governor’s Rule was proclaimed under Section 92 of Constitution of J&K with concurrence of President of India.

It had resulted in Governor assuming to himself functions of Government as well as Legislature of J&K. During this time, State Assembly was initially suspended due to breaking of coalition government and was later dissolved by Governor in November 2018.

The President’s Rule under Article 356 of Indian Constitution was imposed in J&K after Governor’s rule imposed in June 2018 had ceased after six months period in December 2018.  It was imposed because under Section 92 of J&K Constitution, there is no provision for further continuation of such Proclamation after six months period. Later, resolution imposing President rules in J&K was approved by Parliament, (separately by Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha).

Way Forward

The Election Commission of India (ECI) stated that under Article 324 of Indian Constitution and other extant laws/rules etc. it took unanimous decision of holding of Jammu and Kashmir Assembly elections later in this year. The EC now confirmed that election schedule for state will be announced after the conclusion of Amarnath Yatra in August 2019. The Commission will also keep regular and real-time monitoring of situation in J&K as well as taking inputs from all necessary quarters for successful conduction of election.

About President’s Rule

Article 356 of constitution of India empowers President to issue a proclamation of Present’s Rule (or State Emergency), if he is satisfied that a situation has arisen in which government of a state cannot be carried on in accordance with provisions of Constitution. Thus, President’s rule is also called Constitutional Emergency as it deals with failure of constitutional machinery in State. The President can act in accordance with or without the report of Governor of state.

President’s Rule in a state can continue for a period of 6 months at a time and after this period it can be extended for another term with approval of both houses of Parliament (Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) but for a maximum period of 3 years.

Month: Categories: Constitution & Law


President appoints Governors of seven states

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed Governors of seven states including Bihar, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim, Meghalaya, and Tripura by exercising his authority under Article 156. The appointments will be effective from the dates the incumbents take charge of their respective offices.

New Governors

Satya Pal Malik: He is former Governor of Bihar who was transferred to Jammu and Kashmir (J&K). It makes hi,  first careered politician to be appointed as  Governor of  J&K in 51 years. He succeeds N Vohra, who has been serving this post since 2008.

Lal Ji Tandon: He was has been appointed as new Governor of Bihar. He was MLA in Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council for two terms (1978-84). He was elected MLA from Lucknow West for three terms from 1996 to 2009. He was close confidant of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Ganga Prasad: He was appointed as the new Governor of Sikkim. He is former Governor of Meghalaya.  He was member of Bihar legislative council for 18 years. He is former leader of Opposition in Bihar Assembly. He was businessman by profession, and had started his political career as Jan Sangh member in 1967.

Tathagata Roy: He was transferred as new Governor of Meghalaya. He was earlier the Governor of Tripura.  He was BJP’s West Bengal unit President from 2002 to 2006. He had started his political career in 1990. He was part of Calcutta Metro railway project and had designed Calcutta Metro.

Kaptan Singh Solanki: He was appointed as new Governor of Tripura. Prior to this, he was Governor of Haryana. He is former Rajya Sabha member and was appointed as the Governor of Haryana in 2014. He was elected to Rajya Sabha in August 2009.

Satyadev Narayan Arya: He was appointed as the new Governor of Haryana. He is prominent Dalit leader from Nalanda, Arya. He was eight-term MLA from Bihar. He was cabinet minister in 2010 BJP-JDU Government in state.

Baby Rani Maurya: She has been made the new Governor of Uttarakhand. She is former Agra mayor and ex-member of National Commission for Women (NCW). She was BJP leader from Agra.

Constitutional provisions of Governor

Article 153: It says that there shall be Governor for each state. 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 facilitated appointment of the same person as governor for two or more states.

Article 156: It says that Governor is appointed by President of India for a term of five years (But  Governor usually holds office during pleasure of President.


Month: Categories: Governance & Politics