Science Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Department of Biotechnology held International Summit on Women in STEM

On January 25, 2020, the Department of Biotechnology held an International Summit on Women in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) on the following theme

Theme: Visualizing the Future: New Skylines

The summit aimed to increase the participation of women in STEM field.


The summit show cased the success of several women in the field of STEM. The summit also hosted different sessions on empowering women through networking, leadership building, interactive exercises with scientists.

The summit served as a platform for the students to interact with leaders in the field. This will help them widely in developing ideas and frame a future plan in their career.


According to Article 51A, it is the duty of every citizen to develop scientific temper, spirit of inquiry and humanism.

Significance of the summit

The National Science Foundation predicts that around 80% of the jobs created in the next 10 years will be STEM oriented. However, India lags students in the field of problem-solving, innovation and creativity.

Also, women are under represented in the field. According to UNESCO, only 29% of STEM R&D are contributed by women.

The hinderance in India’s growth in STEM is that the contribution of education system towards STEM is lagging.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Project Gandhi Encyclopedia approved by GoI

The Ministry of Culture on December 10, 2019 approved Rs 2.95 crores financial assistance for the development of Gandhi Paedia. The project is to be implemented by National Council of Science Museums, Kolkata.


The GoI is developing “Gandhi Encyclopedia” in order to spread awareness in the country. The aim is to promote Gandhian philosophy and thoughts through social media platforms. The GoI sanctioned financial assistance of Rs 5.25 crores rupees for the commemoration of 150th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. A part of the amount allocated is being used for the project.

National Council of Science Museums

The council is an autonomous organization that is operating under Ministry of Culture. There are around 24 such museum all over India. The purpose of establishing these councils is to coordinate all informal science communication activities in the country.

The first science museum called the Birla Industrial and Technological Museum was built in May 2, 1959. The Council is now developing science centres in collaboration with State Governments.

Science Centres

The science centres have good manpower to create the best infrastructure and manpower to conceptualize, develop, design and organize science exhibits. So far, the council has constructed 5 science centres in Mumbai, Nagpur, Calicut, Bhopal and Goa. Every year, more than 750,000 people visit these centres.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App