SCO Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Statue of Unity included in 8 Wonders of SCO; SCO heads meet: first time in India

The Statue of Unity that was inaugurated by PM Modi in October 2018 has been included in 8 wonders of SCO (Shanghai Cooperation Organization). The statue was a monumental tribute to Sardar Vallabhai Patel.

About the Statue

The Statue was inaugurated on the 143rd birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhai Patel. It is the world’s tallest statue. In one year, since its inauguration, it attracted 2.9 million tourists and earned 82 crores of rupees.

What are the Eight Wonders?

The Wonders of SCO include archaeological and historical monuments of SCO. It includes

  • Statue of Unity in India
  • Daming Palace in China
  • Navruz Palace in Tajikistan
  • Mughals Heritage in Pakistan
  • Tamgaly Gorge in Kazakhstan
  • Po-i-Kalan Complex in Uzbekistan
  • The Golden Ring of Russia
  • Lahore, the Mughals heritage in Pakistan

SCO Heads Meet

For the first time, India is hosting heads of Government meet of SCO countries. All the government heads of eight SCO countries India, Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan will attend the meeting. However, there are possibilities for Pakistan to skip the meet.

Amidst highest tensions between India and Pakistan, Pakistan PM Imran Khan is expected to skip the meet. The countries however participated in SCO military exercise hosted by Russia.

SCO is an economic bloc in which India and Pakistan became members in 2017.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

India to host 19th Council of Heads of Governments of SCO in 2020

India will be hosting  the 19th Council of Heads of Government of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation in 2020. This was informed by SCO Secretary General Vladimir Norov. This will be for the first time that India will host the high level meeting of the China-led eight-member economic and security bloc.

About SCO

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) aka Shanghai Pact was created in 2001 in Shanghai by China. Apart from China, its founding members were Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. India and Pakistan were admitted as full members in 2017. At present, SCO has four observer States viz.  Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia; and has six dialogue partners viz. Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka. It is also known as Alliance of the East. In terms of geographical coverage and population, it is world’s largest regional organization.

SCO summits

SCO holds two types of summits every year viz. Summit of Heads of States and Summits Heads of Governments. These summits are organized in member states. The latest Summit of heads of government was held in Tashkent in November 2019. It was proposed in Tashkent Summit that India would take the initiative to hold the 2020 meetings of the Heads of Government.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App